March 10, 2024 Confirmed


Portuguese Republic

Election for Assembleia da República (Portuguese Assembly of the Republic)

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 230 seats in the Portuguese Assembly of the Republic

  • Chief of State: President Marcelo REBELO DE SOUSA (since 9 March 2016) 

  • Head of Government: Caretaker Prime Minister Antônio Luis Santos da COSTA (since 24 November 2015) 

  • Assembly: unicameral Assembly of the Republic (Assembleia da República) with 230 seats

  • The President is directly elected by absolute majority vote in up to two rounds. The President may serve up to two 5-year terms. 

  • The legislative majority leader is typically appointed Prime Minister by the President. 

  • In the Assembly of the Republic, 226 members are elected by closed-list proportional representation vote in multi-seat constituencies. An additional 4 members are elected by proportional representation vote from two constituencies representing the Portuguese diaspora. All members are directly elected and serve 4-year terms.

In the 2022 legislative election, the Socialist Party won a majority with 117 seats, followed by the Social Democratic Party (71 seats), and four other parties. Voter turnout was 57.96%.

Information for Voters: 

Perguntas Frequentes: Votação em Portugal / FAQs: Voting in Portugal (in Portuguese)

New/Unique in this Election:  

President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa called a snap election after Prime Minister Antonio Costa resigned due to accusations of corrupt dealings with mining and energy firms. Prime Minister Costa will continue to serve as caretaker Prime Minister until the new legislature opens.

Key Deadlines: 

  • Leader: Pedro Nuno SANTOS 

  • Seats won in last election: 117 out of 230 

  • Leader: Hugo SOARES 

  • Seats won in last election 71 out of 230 

  • Leader: André Amaral VENTURA 

  • Seats won in last election: 12 out of 230 

  • Leader: João Cotrim FIGUEIREDO 

  • Seats won in last election: 8 out of 230 

  • Leader: Paulo RAIMUNDO 

  • Seats won in last election:  

  • Leader: Mariana MORTÁGUA 

  • Seats won in last election: 5 out of 230

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 23 September 2009 

  • Projected population with a disability: 1,665,552 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in Portugal: No 

  • Election Access: Yes 

  • Election Judgements: Yes, 3 judgments and 14 resources 

Election Modified: Feb 22, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Portugal

With Participation Rates