March 24, 2024 Held


Republic of Senegal

Election for Senegalese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:4,519,253
Valid Votes:4,485,128
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Candidate:

Bassirou Diomaye Diakhar FAYE2,434,751


Amadou BA1,605,086


Results Notes

Results Sources: Direction Générale des Élections and Agence de Presse Sénégalaise

Results are shown only for candidates who received at least 5% of the vote.

Election Results Modified: Apr 08, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • The Presidency of Senegal

This election was postponed from 25 February to 24 March following President Mack SALL's retraction of the writ of election and subsequent constitutional court decisions.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Macky SALL (since 2 April 2012)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Amadou BA (since 17 September 2022)
  • Assembly: unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 165 seats

Electoral System:

  • The President is directly elected by absolute majority vote in up to 2 rounds and may serve up to two 5-year terms.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the National Assembly, 112 members are directly elected by plurality vote, and 53 members are directly elected in a single nationwide constituency by proportional representation vote. All members serve 5-year terms.

Last Election:

In the 2019 presidential election, Macky SALL won in one round with 58.26% of the vote, defeating four other candidates. Voter turnout was 66%.

New/Unique in this Election:

There were several articles of the electoral code that were amended following the National Dialogue in June 2023. Candidates may now run for president if they have the endorsement of 13 MPs or 120 mayors instead of the prior requirement of having the endorsement of 0.6% of registered voters. Additionally, those convicted of felonies will be able to run for elections if they are granted a presidential pardon. The candidacy review process was also modified and will be conducted in order by lottery by a new commission that includes candidate representatives, members of the election commission and representatives of the Constitutional Council.

Key Deadlines:

Main Candidates in this Election:

  • Amadou BA 
    • Alliance pour la République Coalition Benno Bokk Yakaar 
  • Boubacar CAMARA 
    • Party of Construction and Solidarity / Parti de la Construction Et De La Solidarite
  • Aliou Mamadou DIA 
    • Party of Unity and Collectivity / Parti de l'Unité et du Rassemblement 
  • Mamadou Lamine DIALLO 
    • Mld Tekki 2024  
  • El Hadji Mamadou DIAO 
    • Independent
  • Mahammed Boun Abdallah DIONNE 
    • Independent
  • Bassirou Diomaye Diakhar FAYE 
    • Independent
  • El Hadji Malick GACKOU 
    • Independent
  • Aly Ngouille NDIAYE 
    • Independent
  • Daouda NDIAYE 
    • Independent
  • Cheikh Tidiane NDIÉYE 
    • President Bi Nu Begg
  • Anta Babacar NGOM 
    • Alternative for Citizen Relief / Alternative pour la Releve Citoyenne 
  • Serigne MBOUP 
    • Independent
  • Déthié FALL 
    • Independent
  • Papa Djibril FALL 
    • Servants / Serviteurs
  • Thierno Alassane SALL 
    • Republic of Values Rewum Ngor / Republique Des Valeurs Rewum Ngor 
  • Idrissa SECK 
    • Rewmi Party 
  • Khalifa Ababacar SALL 
    • Manko Taxawu Senegal 
  • Habib SY 
    • Party of Hope and Modernity / Parti De L'espoir Et De La Modernite
  • Rose WARDINI 
    • New Senegal / Senegal Nouveau 


Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Signed 25 April 2007, Ratified 7 September 2010
  • Projected population with a disability: 2,770,632 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources:

  • Election Snapshot: Yes
  • Does IFES have a presence in Senegal: Yes, office
  • Election Access: Yes
  • Election Judgements: Yes, 9 resources
Election Modified: Apr 08, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Senegal

With Participation Rates