Dec. 6, 2020 Held



Election for Senat (Romanian Senate)

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 308 seats in the Camera Deputatilor (Chamber of Deputies

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Klaus IOHANNIS (since 21 December 2014)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ludovic ORBAN (since 4 November 2019)
  • Assembly: Romania has a bicameral Parlament (Parliament) consisting of the Senat (Senate) with 176 seats and the Camera Deputatilor (Chamber of Deputies) with 412 seats.[1]

Description of electoral system:

  • For the Senate, 134 members are elected through a party-list proportional representation system, with a 5% threshold for parties and a threshold of 8-10% for electoral alliances.
Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Romania

With Participation Rates