Feb. 25, 2011 Held



Election for Dáil Éireann (Irish House of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,243,176
Valid Votes:2,220,323
Invalid Votes:22,853

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Fine Gael 76 - 801,628


Labour Party 37 - 431,796


Fianna Fail 20 - 387,358


Independents (Independents) 15 - 279,459


Sinn Fein 14 - 220,661


Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit (Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit) 2 - 21,551


Socialist Party (Socialist Party) 2 - 26,770

Election Results Modified: Apr 01, 2016

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 166 seats in the House of Representatives (Dáil Éireann)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mary MCALEESE *
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister (Taoiseach) Brian COWEN
  • Assembly: Ireland has a bicameral Parliament (Oireachtas) consisting of the Senate (Seanad Éireann) with 60 seats and the House of Representatives (Dáil Éireann) with 166 seats.

* The presidential term is renewable once. The electoral system is alternative vote. The President is a member of Parliament ex officio.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by a majority system with preferential vote to serve a 7-year term.
  • The Prime Minister (Taoiseach) is appointed by the President.
  • In the Senate (Seanad Éireann), 43 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms, 11 members are appointed by the President to serve 5-year terms and 6 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms*. In the House of Representatives (Dáil Éireann) 166 members are elected through a single transferable vote (STV) proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms.**

* 43 members are elected by five panels representing vocational interests. Six are elected by graduates of two colleges.

** One seat is reserved for the Speaker of the House. There are 43 multi-member districts with magnitudes from 3 to 5.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 4,576,794 (2011)
  • Registered Voters: 3,209,177 (February 2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 2,295,988 (2011)

·         Is Ireland a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Ireland ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (23 December 1985)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: N/A

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 25 (House of Representatives); 18 (Senate) (following the 2011 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 6 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Ireland a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Ireland ratified CRPD: No

·         Population with a disability: 686,519 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 02, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Ireland

With Participation Rates