July 5, 2024 Confirmed

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Islamic Republic of Iran

Election for رئیس‌جمهور ایران / Rayis Jomhur-e Irān (Iranian President)

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • The Presidency of Iran

The first round of this election was held on 28 June 2024.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: Supreme Leader Ali Hoseini KHAMENEI (since 4 June 1989)
  • Head of Government: Acting President Mohammed MOKHBER (since 20 May 2024)
  • Assembly: unicameral Islamic Consultative Assembly (مجلس شورای اسلامی) with 290 seats

Electoral System:

  • The Supreme Leader is appointed for life by the Assembly of Experts.
  • The President is directly elected by absolute majority vote in up to two rounds. The President may serve up to three 4-year terms, but only two terms may be served consecutively.
  • In the Islamic Consultative Assembly, 285 members are directly elected by absolute majority vote in up to two rounds. An additional 5 seats are reserved for representatives of the Zoroastrian, Jewish, Assyrian, Chaldean Christian, northern Armenian, and southern Armenian communities (1 seat each).  

Last Election:

The last presidential election was held on June 16, 2021. Ebrahim RAISI won with 18,021,945 votes (72.35%) and Mohsen REZAEE received 3,440,835 votes (13.81%). All other candidates received less than 10% of the vote. Voter turnout was 48%.

New/Unique this Election:

 This is a snap election, which was called following the death of President Ebrahim RAISI in a helicopter crash on 19 May 2024.

Key Deadlines:

Candidates in this Election:

  • Massoud PEZESHKIAN
  • Saeed JALILI


Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Ratified (by accession) 23 October 2009
  • Projected population with a disability: 14,168,091 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources:

  • Does IFES have a presence in Iran: No
  • Election Access: Yes
  • Election Judgements: Yes, 2 judgments and 5 resources
Election Modified: Jul 01, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Iran, Islamic Republic of

With Participation Rates