June 16, 2021 Held

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Islamic Republic of Iran

Election for رئیس‌جمهور ایران / Rayis Jomhur-e Irān (Iranian President)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:28,750,736
Valid Votes:24,909,817
Invalid Votes:3,840,919

Vote Share by Candidate:

Seyyed EBRAHIM18,021,945


Mohsen REZAEE3,440,835


Abdolnaser HEMMATI2,443,387


Amir-Hossein Ghazizadeh HASHEMI1,003,650

Election Results Modified: Aug 11, 2021

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Iran

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State:  Supreme Leader Ali Hoseini-KHAMENEI (since 4 June 1989)
  • Head of Government:  President Hassan Fereidun ROUHANI (since 3 August 2013)
  • Assembly:  Iran has a unicameral Islamic Consultative Assembly (Majles-e Shoraye Eslami) with 290 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Supreme Leader is appointed for life by the Assembly of Experts.
  • Candidates for all elected office must submit register with the Ministry of Interior and be vetted and approved by the Guardian Council. Once approved they may campaign until 24 hours prior to election day, typically one week.
  • The president is elected by popular vote to a four-year term.
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Iran, Islamic Republic of

With Participation Rates