Feb. 4, 2024 Held

El Salvador

Republic of El Salvador

Election for Salvadoran Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,268,466
Valid Votes:3,191,615
Invalid Votes:61,787

Vote Share by Candidate:

Nayib BUKELE2,701,725


Juan Manuel FLORES Cornejo204,167


Joel Humberto SÁNCHEZ Maldonado177,881


Luís Alberto PARADA Fuentes65,076


José Javier RENDEROS Vásquez23,473


Ana Marina MURILLO Aguilar19,293


Results Notes

Results source: Tribunal Supremo Electoral

Election Results Modified: Feb 29, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • The Presidency of El Salvador

The legislative election will occur concurrently.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Nayib BUKELE (since 1 June 2019)
    • Claudia Juan RODRÍGUEZ de Guevara has served as acting president since 1 December 2023 while BUKELE participates in the presidential election cycle.
  • Head of Government: President Nayib BUKELE (since 1 June 2019)
  • Assembly: unicameral Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa) with 60 seats

Electoral System:

  • The President is directly elected (along with the Vice-President) by absolute majority vote in up to two rounds. The President may serve one 5-year term.
  • In the Legislative Assembly, all 60 members are directly elected via open-list proportional representation vote from multi-seat constituencies. All members serve 3-year terms

Last Election:

In the 2019 presidential election, Nayib BUKELE won in the first round with 53.1% of the vote, defeating three other candidates. Voter turnout was 51.88%.

New/Unique in this Election:

In 2021, the Constitutional Court ruled that President Nayib BUKELE could run for reelection even though the constitution limits the president to a single term.

Key Deadlines:

  • Candidate filing deadline: 26 October 2023
  • Voter registration deadline: 6 October 2023

Main Candidates in this Election:

  • Nayib BUKELE
    • Nuevas Ideas
    • Incumbent
  • Juan Manuel FLORES Cornejo
    • FMLN
  • Joel Humberto SÁNCHEZ Maldonado
    • ARENA
  • Ana Marina MURILLO Aguilar
    • Fraternidad Patriota Salvadoreña (FPS)
  • José Javier RENDEROS Vásquez
    • Fuerza Solidaria (FS)
  • Luís Alberto PARADA Fuentes
    • Nuestro Tiempo (NT)

Population and Registered Voters:

Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 14 December 2007
  • Projected population with a disability: 1,013,822 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources:

Election Modified: Feb 08, 2024

Most Recent Elections in El Salvador

With Participation Rates