June 25, 2023 Held


Hellenic Republic

Election for Vouli ton Ellinon (Greek Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:5,273,699
Valid Votes:5,215,207
Invalid Votes:32,219

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

New Democracy (Νέα Δημοκρατία) 158 - 2,114,780


Syriza (Συνασπισμός Ριζοσπαστικής Αριστεράς, Synaspismós Rizospastikís Aristerás) 48 - 929,968


PASOK - Movement for Change (ΠΑΣΟΚ – Κίνημα Αλλαγής) 32 - 617,574


The Communist Party of Greece (Κομμουνιστικό Κόμμα Ελλάδας) 20 - 401,187


Spartans (Σπαρτιάτες) 12 - 241,633


Greek Solution ( ELLINIKI LYSI) 12 - 231,378


Victory (Democractic Patriotic Movement) (Δημοκρατικό Πατριωτικό Κίνημα – Νίκη) 10 - 192,239


Course of Freedom (Πλεύση Ελευθερίας) 8 - 165,210

Election Results Modified: May 08, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 300 seats of the Greek Parliament 

Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: President Ekaterini SAKELLAROPOULOU (since 13 March 2020) 

  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS (since 8 July 2019) 

  • Assembly: unicameral Hellenic Parliament (Vouli ton Ellinon / Βουλή των Ελλήνων) with 300 seats 

Electoral System:  

  • The President is indirectly elected by the Hellenic Parliament and may serve up to two 5-year terms. 

  • The Prime Minister (the leader of the parliamentary majority party) is appointed by the president. 

  • In the Hellenic Parliament, members are directly elected via open party-list proportional representation vote: 285 from multi-seat constituencies and 15 from a single nationwide constituency. All members serve 4-year terms. 

  • Parties must receive at least 3% of the national vote to receive a seat. 

  • If the top vote-getter wins at least 25% of the national vote, it receives 20 bonus seats. An additional seat is awarded for every additional 0.5% of the vote won, for up to 50 bonus seats.  

Last Election: 

In May of 2023, no single party won a parliamentary majority. New Democracy led the results with 146 seats, followed by Syriza (71), PASOK (41), the Communist Party (26), and Greek Solution (16). Voter turnout was 60%. 

New/Unique in this Election:  

This snap election was called almost immediately following the parliamentary election on 21 May 2023. Rather than form a coalition, the top vote-getting parties opted for a snap election in the hopes of solidifing or improving their results. Following several rounds of electoral reforms, this snap election will again include up to 50 bonus seats for the party that wins the most votes.  

Key Deadlines: 

  • Voter registration is passive for Greek citizens living in Greece, and municipal governments update voter rolls every two months. Eligible voters can request registration changes during the public voter roll display period which occurs on the first through tenth day of the month after voter rolls are updated. 

  • Greek citizens living abroad had to register to vote by 17 May 2023. 

  • Non-citizen residents had to register to vote by 30 April 2023. 

Main Parties in this Election: 

  • Leader: Kyriakos MITSOTAKIS 

  • Seats won in last election: 146 out of 300 

  • Syriza / Συνασπισμός Ριζοσπαστικής Αριστεράς (SYRIZA) 

  • Leader: Alexis TSIPRAS 

  • Seats won in last election: 71 out of 300 

  • Leader: Nikos ANDROULAKIS 

  • Seats won in last election: 41 out of 300  

  • Leader: Dimitris KOUTSOUMPAS 

  • Seats won in last election: 26 out of 300 

  • Leader: Kyriakos VELOPOULOS 

  • Seats won in last election: 16 out of 300 

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

Disability Data: 

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in Greece: No 

  • Election Access: Yes 

  • Election Judgements: Yes; 2 judgements and 24 resources 

Election Modified: Sep 04, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Greece

With Participation Rates