Oct. 2, 2022 Held


Republic of Bulgaria

Election for Narodno Sabranie (Bulgarian National Assembly)

More Info:

At Stake in this Election:         

  • All 240 seats in the Bulgarian National Assembly  


Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: President Rumen RADEV 

  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Gulub DONEV* 

  • Assembly: Unicameral National Assembly (Narodno Sabranie) comprised of 240 seats 

  • *NOTE: Prime Minister Donev is leading a caretaker government until after the elections.  


Electoral System:  

  • The President and Vice President are elected on the same ballot by absolute majority popular vote in two rounds if needed for a 5-year term.  

  • The Prime Minister is elected by the National Assembly.  

  • Members of the National Assembly are directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote to serve 4-year terms.  


Main Parties in this Election:   

  • We Continue the Change (PP) 

    • Leader: Kiril Petkov Asen Vasilev  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 67 out of 240 

  • GERB-Union of Democratic Forces (GERB-SDS) 

    • Leader: Boyko Borisov  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 59 out of 240 

  • Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS) 

    • Leader: Mustafa Karadayi  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 34 out of 240 

  • BSP for Bulgaria (BSPzB) 

    • Leader: Korneliya Ninova  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 26 out of 240 

  • There is Such a People (ITN) 

    • Leader: Slavi Trifonov  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 25 out of 240 

  • Democratic Bulgaria (DB) 

    • Leader: Hristo Ivanov Atanas Atanasov  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 16 out of 240 

  • Revival  

    • Leader: Kostadin Kostadinov  

    • Seats Won in Last Election: 13 out of 240 


 Population and Registered Voters:  


Gender Data:  


Disability Data:  


IFES Resources:  

  • Does IFES have a presence in Bulgaria:  No 

  • Election FAQs: Yes