Jan. 23, 2022 Held

Northern Cyprus

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC)

Election for Cumhuriyet Meclisi (Northern Cypriot Assembly of the Republic)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:117,421
Valid Votes:4,985,543
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Unity Party (Ulusal Birlik Partisi) 24 - 1,971,400


Republican Turkish Party (Cumhuriyetçi Türk Partisi) 18 - 1,597,137


Democratic Party (Demokrat Parti) 3 - 369,239


People's Party (Halkın Partisi) 3 - 333,090


Rebirth Party (Yeniden Doğuş Partisi) 2 - 318,763


Communal Democracy Party (Toplumcu Demokrasi Partisi) - - 220,610


Independence Path (Bağımsızlık Yolu) - - 97,575


Socialist Liberation Party New Forces (Toplumcu Kurtuluş Partisi Yeni Güçler) - - 76,902

Election Results Modified: Feb 27, 2022

General Information

At Stake in this Election:        

  • 50 seats in the Assembly of the Republic of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus 

Government Structure: 

  • Chief of State: President Ersin TATAR (since 23 October 2020) 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Faiz SUCUOĞLU (since 5 November 2021) 
  • Assembly: Northern Cyprus possesses a unicameral legislative assembly comprised of 50 seats known as the Assembly of the Republic (Cumhuriyet Meclisi). 

Electoral System: 

  • In the Assembly of the Republic (Cumhuriyet Meclisi), 50 members are elected for five-year terms using a system of proportional representation. Parties or coalitions of parties, which compete within a total of five electoral districts, must surpass a five percent threshold to secure representation. Voters may cast their ballot for either a party list or for individual candidates, so long as the number of candidates selected does not exceed the number of contested seats in their electoral district. [1] [2]
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President from among the deputies that comprise the Assembly of the Republic. The President entrusts the title of Prime Minister and the formation of the Council of Ministers to the deputy who is most likely to secure a vote of confidence. [3]
  • The President is elected for a five-year term using a two-round majoritarian system, in which a second round of voting is required if a candidate does not initially secure more than 50 percent of the ballot. [4]

Last Election: 

  • The previous elections for the Assembly of the Republic were held on 7 January 2018. 

Main Parties in this Election:  

  • Party: National Unity Party / Ulusal Birlik Partisi (UBP) 
    • Leader: Faiz SUCUOĞLU 
    • Seats won in last election: 20
  • Party: Republican Turkish Party / Cumhuriyetçi Türk Partisi (CTP) 
    • Leader: Tufan ERHÜRMAN 
    • Seats won in last election: 12 
  • Party: People’s Party / Halkın Partisi (HP) 
    • Leader: Kudret ÖZERSAY 
    • Seats won in last election: 6 
  • Party: Communal Democracy Party / Toplumcu Demokrasi Partisi (TDP) 
    • Leader: Cemal ÖZYIĞIT 
    • Seats won in last election: 3 
  • Party: Democratic Party / Demokrat Parti (DP) 
    • Leader: Fikri ATAOĞLU 
    • Seats won in last election: 3 
  • Party: Rebirth Party / Yeniden Doğuş Partisi (YDP) 
    • Leader: Erhan ARIKLI 
    • Seats won in last election: 1 


[1] https://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2537/

[2] https://www.ispionline.it/en/pubblicazione/parliamentary-elections-northern-cyprus-whats-stake-32899

[3] http://www.cypnet.co.uk/ncyprus/main/polsyst/constitution/ 

[4] https://electionguide.org/elections/id/2537/

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Northern Cyprus

With Participation Rates