Jan. 7, 2018 Held

Northern Cyprus

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC)

Election for Cumhuriyet Meclisi (Northern Cypriot Assembly of the Republic)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:118,970
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Unity Party (Ulusal Birlik Partisi) 21


Republican Turkish Party (Cumhuriyetçi Türk Partisi) 12


People's Party (Halk Partisi) 9


Communal Democracy Party (Toplumcu Demokrasi Partisi) 3


Democratic Party (Demokrat Parti) 3


Reborn Party (Yeniden Doğuş Partisi) 2

Election Results Modified: Jun 15, 2018

General Information

Northern Cyprus: Parliament, 7 January 2018

At stake in this election:

  • 50 seats in the Assembly of the Republic (Cumhuriyet Meclisi)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mustafa AKINCI
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Kurdet ÖZERSAY
  • Assembly: Northern Cyprus has a unicameral Assembly of the Republic (Cumhuriyet Meclisi) with 50 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • Prime Minister is nominated by the president.
  • In the Assembly of the Republic (Cumhuriyet Meclisi) 50 members are elected by proportional representation to serve 5-year terms.***

*** Members are elected from 5 electoral districts. There is a 5 percent threshold for gaining representation. Voters in each district may vote for a party list, or for individual candidates. If they vote for individual candidates, their number of votes cannot exceed the number of seats in the district.

Main parties in the electoral race:

***** Eight members of the UBP have defected to join the DP-UG.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 294,906 (December 2011 Turkish Cypriot administration census)
  • Registered Voters: 172,803 (July 2013 )
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Northern Cyprus

With Participation Rates