Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

April 3, 2022 Held


Republic of Serbia

Election for Narodna skupština (Serbian National Assembly)


Cast Votes:3,805,593
Valid Votes:3,629,870
Invalid Votes:112,723


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Aleksander Vučić-Together We Can Do Everything (Aleksandar Vučić — Zajedno možemo sve) 120 - 1,635,100


United for the Victory of Serbia (Ujedinjeni za pobedu Srbije) 38 - 520,469


Ivica Dačić-Prime Minister of Serbia (Ivica Dačić — Premijer Srbije) 32 - 435,266


National Democratic Alternative (Nacionalno demokratska alternativa) 15 - 204,442


We Must (Moramo) 13 - 178,733


Serbian Movement "Dveri"-Movement for the Restoration of the Kingdom of Serbia (Srpski pokret Dveri-Pokret obnove Kraljevine Srbije) 10 - 144,762


Serbian Party Oathkeepers (Srpska stranka Zavetnici) 10 - 141,277


Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians 5 - 60,313


Mufti's Legacy-Justice and Reconciliation Party (Stranka pravde i pomirenja) 3 - 35,850


Democratic Alliance of Croats in Vojvodina (Demokratski savez Hrvata u Vojvodini) 2 - 24,024


Party of Democratic Action of Sandžak 2 - 20,553


More Info:

At Stake in this Election: 

  • 250 seats in the National Assembly (Narodna skupština) of the Republic of Serbia 

Government Structure: 

  • Chief of State: President Aleksandar VUČIĆ (since 31 May 2017) 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ana BRNABIĆ (since 29 June 2017) 
  • Assembly: The Serbian National Assembly (Narodna skupština) is a unicameral legislature comprised of 250 deputies. 

Electoral System: 

  • The President is elected for a five-year term using a two-round system. If a candidate fails to receive a majority of the ballot during the first round of voting, a second round is held between the two candidates who received the most votes to determine the winner. [1]
  • The Prime Minister is elected by the National Assembly (Narodna skupština). [2]
  • In the National Assembly (Narodna skupština), members are elected under a proportional representation system in a single, nationwide constituency, with closed party-list representation. All 250 seats in the unicameral legislature are distributed in proportion to the number of votes received by each party-list using the d’Hondt method. [3]

Last Election: 

  • The previous parliamentary elections were held on 21 June 2020. 

Main Parties in this Election: [4][5]

  • Coalition: Aleksandar Vučić – Together We Can Do Everything* / Aleksandar Vučić – Zajedno možemo sve 
    • Leader: Aleksandar VUČIĆ 
    • Seats won in last election: New 
  • Coalition: Ivica Dačić – Prime Minister of Serbia** / Ivica Dačić – premijer Srbije 
    • Leader: Ivica DAČIĆ 
    • Seats won in last election: New 
  • Party: Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians (VMSZ) / Vajdasági Magyar Szövetség or Savez vojvođanskih Mađara  
    • Leader: István PÁSZTOR 
    • Seats won in last election: 9 
  • ​Party: Mufti’s Legacy – Justice and Reconciliation Party (SPP) / Stranka pravde i pomirenja 
    • Leader: Usame ZUKORLIĆ 
    • Seats won in last election: 4 
  • Party: Party of Democratic Action of Sandžak (SDA of Sandžak) / Stranka demokratske akcije Sandžaka 
    • Leader: Sulejman UGLJANIN 
    • Seats won in last election: 3 
  • Coalition: Coalition of Albanians of the Valley*** / Koalicija Albanaca doline or Koalicioni i Shqiptarëve të luginës  
    • Leader: Shaip KAMBERI 
    • Seats won in last election: New

*The coalition “Aleksandar Vučić – Together We Can Do Everything” is led by the Serbian Progressive Party (SNS) and is comprised of ten parties in total, including the following: 

**The coalition “Ivica Dačić – Prime Minister of Serbia” consists of the following three parties: 

  • Party: Socialist Party of Serbia (SPS) / Socijalistička partija Srbije 
    • Leader: Ivica DAČIĆ 
    • Seats won in last election: 22 
  • Party: United Serbia (JS) / Jedinstvena Srbija 
    • Leader: Dragon MARKOVIĆ 
    • Seats won in last election: 8 
  • Party: Greens of Serbia (ZS) / Zeleni Srbije 
    • Leader: Ivan KARIĆ 
    • Seats won in last election: 1 

***The party anchoring the “Coalition of Albanians of the Valley” is as follows: 

  • Party: Party for Democratic Action (PDD) / Partija za demokratsko delovanje or Partia për veprim demokratik 
    • Leader: Shaip KAMBERI 
    • Seats won in last election: 3 

Population and Registered Voters: 

  • Population: 6,899,126 (January 2021 est.) [6]
  • Registered Voters: 6,501,689 (March 2022) [7]

Gender Data: 

  • Female Population: 3,538,820 (January 2022 est.) [8] 
  • Is Serbia a signatory to CEDAW: No [9]
  • Has Serbia ratified CEDAW:  Yes (ratified 12 March 2001) [10]
  • Gender Quota: The Serbian Parliament amended its electoral code in 2020, mandating that 40 percent of candidates on parliamentary and local-level electoral lists be reserved for female candidates. [11] 
  • Female candidates in this election: N/A 
  • Number of Female Legislators: 100 out of 250 [12]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: Rank 64 at 0.806 (2020) [13]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very low [14]