April 24, 2022 Held


Republic of Slovenia

Election for Državni Zbor (Slovenian National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,193,445
Valid Votes:1,182,517
Invalid Votes:10,928

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Freedom Movement (Gibanje Svoboda) 41 - 407,935


Slovenian Democratic Party (Slovenska demokratska stranka) 27 - 278,114


New Slovenia - Christian Democrats (Nova Slovenija - KRŠČANSKI DEMOKRATI) 8 - 81,296


Social Democrats (SOCIALNI DEMOKRATI) 7 - 78,766


The Left (Levica) 5 - 78,766

Election Results Modified: May 04, 2022

General Information

Note: Only parties who won a seat in parliament are reflected in the results. 

At stake in this election [i]:

  • All 90 seats in the Slovenian National Assembly (Državni zbor Republike Slovenije).

Description of government structure [ii]:

  • Chief of State: President Borut PAHOR (since 22 December 2012)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Janez JANSA (Since 13 March 2020)
  • Assembly: Bicameral Parliament that consists of the National Council* (Drzavni Svet) which has 40 seats and a National Assembly (Drzavni Zbor) which has 90 seats.

*Note: The National Council has limited legislative powers and is largely an advisory body.

Description of electoral system [iii]:

  • The President is directly elected by an absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is typically the leader of the majority party or coalition and is nominated by the President and elected by the National Assembly.
  • The National Council is elected by an electoral college to serve 5-year terms. 88 members of the National Assembly are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote and 2 members are elected in special constituencies for minority groups. Members in the National Assembly serve 4-year terms.

Last Election [iv]:

  • The last National Assembly election was held on June 3rd, 2018. There was a 52% voter turnout and 901,454 votes were cast. The Slovenian Democratic Party won 25 seats and 24.92% of the vote and the List of Marjan Sarec Party won 13 seats and 12.6% of the vote.

Main parties in this election:

  • Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS) / Slovenska demokratska stranka
    • Leader: Janez JANSA
    • Seats won in last election: 25 out of 90
  • List of Marjan Šarec (LMS) / Lista Marjana Šarca
    • Leader: Marjan SAREC
    • Seats won in last election: 13 out of 90
  • Social Democrats (SD) / Socialni demokrati
    • Leader: Tanja FAJON
    • Seats won in last election: 10 out of 90
  • The Left (Levica) / Levica
    • Leader: Luka MESEC
    • Seats won in last election: 9 out of 90
  • New Slovenia (NSi) / Nova Slovenija
    • Leader: Matej TONIN
    • Seats won in last election: 7 out of 90
  • Party of Alenka Bratušek (SAB) / Stranka Alenke Bratušek
    • Leader: Alenka BRATUSEK
    • Seats won in last election: 5 out of 90
  • Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS) / Demokratična stranka upokojencev Slovenije
    • Leader: Ljubo JASNIC
    • Seats won in last election: 5 out of 90
  • Let’s Connect Slovenia (PoS) / Povežimo Slovenijo*
    • Leader: N/A
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Slovenian National Party (SNS) / Slovenska nacionalna stranka
    • Leader:  Zmago “Plemeniti” JELINCIC
    • Seats won in last election: 4 out of 90
  • Freedom Movement (GS) / Gibanje svoboda**
    • Leader: Robert GOLOB
    • Seats won in last election: N/A
  • Our Land (ND) / Naša dežela *** [v]
    • Leader: Aleksandra PIVEC
    • Seats won in last election: N/A

*Note: Let’s Connect Slovenia is a coalition of the following groups formed in 2021: Concretely (Konkretno), Slovenian People’s Party (Slovenska ljudska stranka), Greens of Slovenia (Zeleni Slovenije), New People’s Party (Nova ljudska stranka), and the New Social Democracy (Nova socialdemokracija). The Concretely Party won 10 seats in the last election, and all other parties in this coalition did not win any seats.

** The Freedom Movement is a new political party that did not run in the last parliamentary elections, but currently holds 2 seats in the National Assembly.

*** The Our Land Party is a new political party that did not run in the last parliamentary elections, but currently holds one seat in the National Assembly.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 2,102,106 (July 2021 est.) [vi]
  • Registered Voters: 1,712,676 (2018 est.) [vii]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: Not available
  • Is Slovenia a signatory to CEDAW: No. [viii]
  • Has Slovenia ratified CEDAW: Yes (6 July 1992 succession date) [ix]
  • Gender Quota: Yes, both legislated and voluntary quotas. Slovenian electoral law states that “no gender shall be represented by less than 35% of the actual total number of female and male candidates on the list”. Additionally, many political parties have adopted voluntary gender quotas. [x]
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of female legislators: 24 out of 90 [xi]
  • Human Development Index Position: 0.917 (ranked 22nd[xii]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very low (13%) [xiii]

Disability Data:

  • Is Slovenia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (signed 30 March 2007) [xiv]
  • Has Slovenia ratified CRPD: Yes (ratified 24 April 2008) [xv]
  • Population with a disability: 297,512 (2022 est.) [xvi]
Election Modified: Aug 02, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Slovenia

With Participation Rates