March 5, 2019 Held

Micronesia, Federated States of

Federated States Of Micronesia

Election for Micronesian Congress


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:15,959
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Independents (Independents) 14 - 15,959

Election Results Modified: Mar 11, 2019

General Information

Note: The registered voters figure is from 2017, and will be updated as soon as possible.

At stake in this Election:

  • The 14 seats in the Congress.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State:  President Peter M. CHRISTIAN
  • Head of Government:  President Peter M. CHRISTIAN
  • Assembly:  Micronesia has a unicameral congress with 14 seats

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Congress, 4 members (Senators) are elected by proportional representation to serve 4-year terms, and 10 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 2-year terms. One proportional representation seat is elected from each of Micronesia’s four states: Yap, Chuuk, Pohnpei, and Kosrae.

Main Parties in this Election:

  • Independents*
    • Seats won in last election: 14

* Micronesia does not have political parties; all candidates run as independents. There are 32 candidates running in this election.

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 106983 (2019 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 65,943 (2017)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 52,116 (2019 est.)
  • Is Micronesia a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Micronesia ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (1 September 2004)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: 
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 0
  • Human Development Index Position: 131 (2018)
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Micronesia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (23 September 2011)
  • Has Micronesia ratified CRPD: No
  • Population with a disability: 15,782 (est.)
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Micronesia, Federated States of

With Participation Rates