Feb. 4, 2018 Held


Republic of Cyprus

Election for Cypriot Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:407,475
Valid Votes:384,524
Invalid Votes:22,951

Vote Share by Candidate:



Stavros MALAS169,243

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

Cyprus: President, 4 February 2018

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of Cyprus

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Nikos ANASTASIADIS (since 28 February 2013)
  • Head of Government: President Nikos ANASTASIADIS (since 28 February 2013)
  • Assembly: Unicameral House of Representatives (Vouli Antiprosopon) with 80 seats

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is directly elected by an absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds, if needed, for a 5-year term.

Last Election:

  • The last elections for the President of Cyprus were held in 2013. Nikos ANASTASIADIS was elected in the second round.

Main candidates in the election:

    • Democratic Rally / Dimokratikós Sinagermós (DISY)
  • Stavros MALAS
    • Progressive Party of Working People / Anorthotikó Kómma Ergazómenou Laoú (AKEL)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 1,221,549
  • Registered Voters: 543,186

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 598,799
  • Is Cyprus a signatory to CEDAW: N/A
  • Has Cyprus ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (23 July 1985)
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: No
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 10
  • Human Development Index Position: 33
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Cyprus a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Cyprus ratified CRPD: Yes (27 June 2011)
  • Population with a disability: 178,380
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Cyprus

With Participation Rates