Jan. 24, 2021 Held


Portuguese Republic

Election for Portuguese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:4,258,356
Valid Votes:4,173,174
Invalid Votes:85,182

Vote Share by Candidate:

Marcelo Rebelo de SOUSA2,531,692


Ana Gomes540,823


André Ventura497,746


Cândido FERREIRA179,764


Marisa MATIAS165,127


Tiago Mayan Gonçalves134,991


Aníbal António Cavaco SILVA123,031

Election Results Modified: Feb 26, 2021

General Information

At stake in this election:     

  • The office of President of Portugal

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa (since 9 March 2016)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Antonio Luis Santos da COSTA (since 24 November 2015)
  • Assembly: Portugal has a unicameral Assembly of the Republic (Assembleia da República) with 230 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority popular vote in a two-round vote to serve a 5-year term.*
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President to serve a 4-year term.*
  • In the Assembly of the Republic (Assembleia da República), 226 members are elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote, and 4 members representing Portugese living abroad are elected by proportional representation vote to serve 4-year terms.

*There is one single nationwide constituency for presidential elections. If no candidate receives an absolute majority of valid votes cast a second round is held 21 days later between the top two candidates; the candidate who wins the most votes in the second round is elected.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Candidate: Ana GOMES
    • Supporting Party: Socialist Party / Partido Socialista (PS)
  • Candidate: André Ventura
    • Supporting Party: CHEGA
  • Candidate: João Ferreira
    • Supporting Party: Portuguese Communist Party (PCP)
  • Candidate: Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa
    • Supporting Party: Independent*
  • Candidate: Marisa Matias
    • Supporting Party: Left Bloc (BE)
  • Candidate: Tiago Mayan Gonçalves
    • Supporting Party: ILiberal Initiative (IL)
  • Candidate: Vitorino Silva (Popularly known as Tino de Rans)
    • Supporting Party: React, Include, Recycle (RIR)

*Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa is a member of the Social Democratic Party, though he suspended his party membership for the duration of his presidency. 

Election Modified: Mar 10, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Portugal

With Participation Rates