Jan. 25, 2015 Held


Hellenic Republic

Election for Vouli ton Ellinon (Greek Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:6,330,786
Valid Votes:6,181,274
Invalid Votes:114,703

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Syriza Unionist Social Front (Συνασπισμός Ριζοσπαστικής Αριστεράς, Synaspismós Rizospastikís Aristerás) 149 - 2,246,064


New Democracy (ND) 76 - 1,718,815


The River (To Potami) 17 - 373,916


Golden Dawn (Χρυσή Αυγή, Chrysi Avg) 17 - 388,447


Communist Party of Greece (KKE) 15 - 338,138


Panhellenic Socialist Movement 13 - 289,482


Independent Greeks (Ανεξάρτητοι Έλληνες, Anexartitoi Ellines) 13 - 293,406

Election Results Modified: Feb 13, 2015

General Information

At stake in this election:       

  • The 300 seats in the Hellenic Parliament (Vouli ton Ellinon).

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Karolos PAPOULIAS (since 12 March 2005)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Antonis SAMARAS (since 20 June 2012)
  • Assembly: Greece has a unicameral Hellenic Parliament (Vouli ton Ellinon) with 300 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is indirectly elected by parliament to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president.
  • In the Parliament (Vouli ton Ellinon), 288 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms and 12 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.*

* There is a national threshold of 3 percent. The party or apparentement winning a plurality of votes automatically is awarded 40 seats, and the remaining seats are allocated proportionally among all parties clearing the threshold. The 288 regular seats are divided among 56 constituencies: 48 multi-member and 8 single-member. In single-member districts, elections are effectively by plurality. The 12 State Deputy seats are allocated proportionally from closed lists in a nationwide district. Voters cast ballots only for the regular seats.

 Election Note:

On Sunday 25 Jauary 2015, Greece will hold the third round of a snap election for parliament. [ii] The election was called by Prime Minister Antonis SAMARAS afer his candidate for president was rejected three time by parliament (the elections were indirect).

Main parties in the electoral race:

Last election:

  • The last election for parliament in Greece was held on 17 June 2012.[iii] The conservative New Democracy (ND won 129 seats, while the lefist Syriza won 71 seats.[iv] Results can be found here: http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/1631/

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 10,775,557 (July 2014 est)[v]
  • Registered Voters: 9,951,970 (2012)[vi]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 5,509,973 (July 2014 est)[vii]
  • Is Greece a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (2 March 1982).[viii]
  • Has Greece ratified CEDAW: Yes (7 June 1983)[ix]
  • Gender Quota:  Yes. Legislated Candidate Quota: “one-third of political parties’ candidate lists, both for national and constituency lists, must be filled with candidates of each sex.”[x]
  • Female Candidates in this election: N/A
  • Number of Female Legislators: 63 (21%) of 300 seats in Greece’s Hellenic Parliament (Vouli ton Ellinon).[xi]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 29.[xii]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: None (latest categorizations are from 2014)[xiii]
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Greece

With Participation Rates