June 18, 2015 Held


Kingdom of Denmark

Election for Folketinget (Danish Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:3,560,060
Valid Votes:3,518,987
Invalid Votes:41,073

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Social Democratic Party (Socialdemokratiet) 47 - 924,940


Danish People's Party 37 - 741,746


Left, Liberal Party of Denmark (Venstre, Danmarks Liberale Parti) 34 - 685,188


Unity List-Red Green Alliance 14 - 274,463


Liberal Alliance (Liberal Alliance) 13 - 265,129


Alternative (Alternativet) 9 - 168,788


Radical Left (Radikale Venstre) 8 - 161,009


Socialist People's Party 7 - 147,578


Conservative People's Party 6 - 118,003


Christian Democrats - - 29,077

Election Results Modified: Jun 22, 2015

General Information

At stake in this election:      

  • 179 seats in the Parliament (Folketinget)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen MARGRETHE II
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Helle THORNING-SCHMIDT
  • Assembly: Denmark has a unicameral Parliament (Folketinget) with 179 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Parliament (Folketinget), 135 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms*, 40 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms* and 4 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year* terms.**

*The Prime Minister may, however, call for new elections at any time.   

** There are three electoral regions in Denmark: Metropolitan Copenhagen, Sealand-Southern Denmark, and Northern and Central Jutland. 17 multi-member constituencies are divided among these regions. Also, a share of compensatory seats proportional to its population is allocated to each electoral region.

First, constituency seats are allocated to each party in proportion to its share of votes. Parties become eligible for compensatory seats if they meet any of three conditions: winning a constituency seat, winning in two of three regions shares of votes equal to or greater than the number of votes cast per individual seat in each region, or winning two percent of votes nationwide.

Next, compensatory seats are allocated to each party to make its overall vote share effectively equal to its overall seat share. The first step here is allocating compensatory seats to each electoral region. The Sainte-Lague procedure is applied to each party's region-level vote share. Quotients resulting from this procedure that correspond to constituency seats are disregarded. The 40 compensatory seats go to the party-regions with the 40 largest remaining quotients. The second step is allocating these party-region seats to constituencies. A second, similar quotient procedure is applied at the constituency level. Disregarding quotients corresponding to party seats already won in the constituency tier, party-region seats are allocated to parties within constituencies from highest to lowest party-constituency quotient, until all compensatory seats are exhausted.

The end result of these processes is a number of seats to be allocated to each eligible party at the constituency level. The electoral system is open-list proportional representation, but parties may opt to field closed lists.

For a fuller overview, please read this overview of the “Parliamentary Electoral System in Denmark.”

Main parties in the electoral race[1][2]:

Last election:

  • The last election for the Parliament (Folketinget) was held on 15 September 2011.  There were 4,079,910 registered voters for the election.  The Left, Liberal Party of Denmark won 47 seats (of 179) or 26.73% of the vote, the Social Democratic Party won 44 seats (24.81% of the vote), the Danish People's Party won 22 seats (12.32% of the vote), the Danish Social Liberal Party won 17 seats (9.50% of the vote), the Socialist People's Party won 16 seats (9.20% of the vote), the Unity List-Red-Green Alliance won 12 seats (6.68% of the vote), the Liberal Alliance won 9 seats (4.98% of the vote), and the Conservative People's Party won 8 seats (4.94% of the vote).  Results can be found here

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 5,569,077 (2014 est.)[3]
  • Registered Voters: 4,079,910 (2011)[4]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 2,823,851[5]
  • Is Denmark a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)
  • Has Denmark ratified CEDAW: Yes (21 April 1983)[6]
  • Gender Quota: No[7]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 70 (39%) of 179 seats in the Parliament[8]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 10[9]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: None[10]

Disability Data:

  • Is Denmark a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Denmark ratified CRPD: Yes (24 July 2009)[11]
  • Population with a disability: 833,468[12]
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Denmark

With Participation Rates