Nov. 8, 2016 Held

Puerto Rico

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Election for Cámara de Representantes (Puerto Rican House of Representatives)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,578,164
Valid Votes:1,487,386
Invalid Votes:90,778

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

New Progressive Party (Partido Nuevo Progresista) 34 - 748,308


Popular Democratic Party (Partido Popular Democratico) 18 - - 642,345


Puerto Rican Independence Party (Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño) 1 - - 71,042


Working People’s Party (Partido del Pueblo Trabajador) - - 22,011


Independents (Independents) - - 3,680

Election Results Modified: Nov 15, 2016

General Information

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico: House of Representatives, 8 November 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 51 seats in the Camara de Representantes (House of Representatives)

Note on the results: Seat totals include both the constituencies and the at-large representatives. The vote totals only factor in the constituent votes. 

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Barack H. OBAMA (since 20 January 2009)
  • Head of Government: Governor Alejandro GARCIA Padilla (since 2 January 2013)
  • Assembly: Puerto Rico has a bicameral Asamblea Legislativa (Legislative Assembly) consisting of the Senado (Senate) with 27 seats and the Camara de Representantes (House of Representatives) with 51 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • Members of the House of Representatives are directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 4-year terms.

Last Election:

  • The last election for the House of Representatives was held on 6 November 2012. The Popular Democratic Party won 28 seats and the New Progressive Party won 23.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Popular Democratic Party (PPD)/Partido Popular Democrático
    • Leader: Alejandro GARCÍA Padilla
    • Seats won in last election: 28
  • New Progressive Party (PNP)/Partido Nuevo Progresista
    • Leader: Pedro PIERLUISI
    • Seats won in last election: 23
  • Puerto Rican Independence Party (PIP)/Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño
    • Leader: Rubén BERRÍOS Martínez
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Sovereign Union Movement/Movimiento Unión Soberanista
    • Leader: Arturo HERNÁNDEZ
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Working People’s Party/Partido del Pueblo Trabajador
    • Leader: Rafael Bernabe RIEFKOHL
    • Seats won in last election: 0

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 3,578,056 (July 2016 est.)

·         Registered Voters: 2,382,738 (2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,869,525 (July 2016 est.)

·         Is Puerto Rico a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Puerto Rico ratified CEDAW: N/A

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 8 (15.69%)

·         Human Development Index Position: N/A

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Puerto Rico a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Puerto Rico ratified CRPD: N/A

·         Population with a disability: 536,708 (est.)

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Puerto Rico

With Participation Rates