Oct. 26, 2018 Held



Election for Irish Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,473,900
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Candidate:

Michael Daniel HIGGINS822,566


Peter CASEY342,727


Seán GALLAGHER94,514


Liadh NÍ RIADA93,987


Joan FREEMAN87,908


Gavin DUFFY32,198

Election Results Modified: May 09, 2019

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Ireland

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Michael D. HIGGINS
  • Head of Government: Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Leo VARADKAR
  • Assembly: Ireland has a bicameral Parliament (Oireachtas) that consists of the Senate (Seanad Éireann) with 60 seats and the House of Representatives (Dail Éireann) with 166 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by a majority system with preferential vote to serve a 7-year term. The presidential term is renewable once. The electoral system is alternative vote. The President is a member of Parliament ex officio.
  • The Prime Minister (Taoiseach) is nominated by the House of Representatives and appointed by the President.
  • In the Senate (Seanad Éireann), 43 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms, 11 members are appointed by the prime minister to serve 5-year terms and 6 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 5-year terms.
    • ​43 members are elected by five panels representing vocational interests. 6 are elected by graduates of two colleges.
  • In the House of Representatives (Dáil Éireann) 166 members are elected through a single transferable vote (STV) proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms. One seat is reserved for the Speaker of the House. There are 43 multi-member districts with magnitudes from 3 to 5.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Michael D Higgins
    • Party: Independent*
  • Sean Gallagher
    • Independent
  • Liadh Ni Riada
    • Party: We Ourselves/Sinn Féin 
  • Gavin Duffy
    • Independent
  • Joan Freeman
    • Independent
  • Peter Casey
    • Independent

 * Mr. Higgins has support from three parties: Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil, and the Labour Party.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 4,803,748 (2018 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 3,202,442 (2011)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 2,420,456 (2018 est.)
  • Is Ireland a signatory to CEDAW: N/A
  • Has Ireland ratified CEDAW: Yes, Accession (23 December 1985)
  • Gender Quota: Yes (Parliament)
  • Female candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 35 (Parliament); 18 (Senate)
  • Human Development Index Position: 8
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Ireland a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Ireland ratified CRPD: No
  • Population with a disability: 733,846
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Ireland

With Participation Rates