March 22, 2014 Held


Republic of Maldives

Election for Majlis (Maldivian People's Council)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:187,547
Valid Votes:185,536
Invalid Votes:2,011

Seat Share By Party:

Hover to view number and percent of total seats won by party. Eight largest parties shown, with "others" combined if applicable.

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Progressive Party of Maldives (ޕްރޮގްރެސިވް ޕާރޓީ އޮފް މޯލްޑިވްސް: ޕީ.ޕީ.އެމް) 33 - 51,424


Maldivian Democratic Party 26 - - 75,670


Jumhooree Party (ޖުމްހޫރީ ޕާޓީ) 15 - 25,149


Independents 5 - 20,276


Maldives Development Alliance (މޯލްޑިވްސް ޑިވެލޮޕްމަންޓް އެލަޔަންސް) 5 - 7,496


Adhaalath Party (ޢަދާލަތު ޕާޓީ ) 1 - 4,941


Dhivehi Rayyithunge Party (ދިވެހި ރައްޔިތުންގެ ޕާޓީ) - - 549

Election Results Modified: Mar 27, 2014

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 85 seats in the People’s Majilis (Rayyithunge Majilis) of the Maldives.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Abdulla YAMEEN
  • Head of Government: President Abdulla YAMEEN
  • Assembly: Maldives has a unicameral People's Majilis (Rayyithunge Majilis) with 85 seats. 8 seats were added prior to this election to account for demographic changes in the country

Description of electoral system:

  • In the People's Majilis (Rayyithunge Majilis), 85 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms. Each of the 20 administrative atolls and Malé are considered separate administrative divisions and have a minimum of two elected members, with additional members elected if the population of the administrative division is over 5,000 people.

Election Notes:

  • The last elections to the People’s Majilis were held on May 9, 2009. These elections marked the first multi-party parliamentary elections in Maldivian history, following the legalization of political parties in 2005. Eleven parties contested the elections, in addition to independent candidates. The Dhivehi Raiyithunge Party won the most seats in the election (28), followed by the Maldivian Democratic Party of then-President Mohamed NASHEED (26 seats). The 2014 People’s Majilis election follows both the 2013 presidential elections and the 2014 local elections in the Maldives. In the presidential election, Abdulla YAMEEN (PPM) was elected president in the second round of voting with 51.39 percent of the vote. In the local elections, the coalition led by the PPM won a majority in 86 island councils, while the MDP won a majority in 74 island councils.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 401,000 (2014)
  • Registered Voters: 204,652 (2014)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 199,915 (2014)

·         Is Maldives a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Maldives ratified CEDAW: Yes, acession (1 July 1993)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 5 (following the 2009 parliamentary elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 104 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Maldives a signatory to CRPD: Yes (2 October 2007)

·         Has Maldives ratified CRPD: Yes (5 April 2010)

·         Population with a disability: 60,150 (est.)


[i] The MDP will contest all 85 seats in the election.

[ii] The PPM has created an alliance with the Jumhooree Party (JP) and Maldives Development Alliance (MDA), where the PPM will contest 49 seats, the JP will contest 28, and the MDA will contest 8.

[iii] The PPM was formed in 2011 by former President Maumoon Abdul GAYOOM, and did not contest the 2009 elections. Currently, 18 members of the People’s Majilis are members of the PPM.

[iv] The DRP is contesting 6 seats in the Parliamentary elections.

[v] NASHEED is not related to the former President Mohamed NASHEED.

[vi] The Adhaalath Party (AP) was invited to join the PPM coalition, however, due to a dispute over seat allotments, they opted not to join. The AP will contest the elections in 13 constituencies.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Maldives

With Participation Rates