Feb. 16, 2003 Held


Republic of Cyprus

Election for Presidency of Cyprus


Cast Votes:431,690
Valid Votes:414,375
Invalid Votes:17,315


Tassos PAPADOPOULOS213,353.000000


Glafcos CLERIDES160,724.000000


Alecos MARKIDES27,404.000000


Nicos KOUTSOU8,771.000000


Costas KYRIACOU1,840.000000


Andreas EFSTRATIOU606.000000


Adamos KATSANTONIS558.000000


Christos IOSIFIDES391.000000


Georgios MAVROGENIS337.000000


Pantelis SOFOKLEOUS209.000000


More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Cyprus

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Glafcos CLERIDES *
  • Head of Government: President Glafcos CLERIDES
  • Assembly: Cyprus has a unicameral House of Representatives (Vouli Antiprosopon) with 80 seats.

* The 1960 Constitution stipulates that the President (who must be a Greek Cypriot) is elected by the Greek Cypriot community while the Vice President (who must be a Turkish Cypriot) is elected by the Turkish Cypriot community. However, the position of Vice President and the 24 seats reserved for Turkish Cypriot representatives are currently vacant pending results of the UN reunification process.
Under the Constitution a candidate must secure a majority vote of 50% to win the presidency.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the House of Representatives (Vouli Antiprosopon) 80 members are elected by popular vote to serve 5-year terms.***

*** 56 seats are assigned to the Greek Cypriots and 24 to Turkish Cypriots.
According to Article 61, the House of Representatives is identified as having the right to exercise the legislative power of the state, except on certain matters reserved to the Communal Chambers.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

    • Party: Democratic Party (DIKO)
  • Glafcos CLERIDES
    • Party: Democratic Coalition (DISI)
  • Alecos MARKIDES
    • Party: Independent
  • Nicos KOUTSOU
    • Party: New Horizons
  • Costas KYRIACOU
    • Party: Independent
  • Andreas EFSTRATIOU
    • Party: Independent
    • Party: Independent
  • Christos IOSIFIDES
    • Party: Independent
  • Pantelis SOFOKLEOUS
    • Party: Independent
  • Georgios MAVROGENIS
    • Party: Independent

* PAPADOPOULOS also has the support of the Restorative Party of the Working People (AKEL) and the Social Democratic Movement (KISOS)

Last Presidential election:

  • The last presidential election was held on February 15, 1998. In this election, CLERIDES won the presidency by securing 50.8% of the votes, while opponent George IACOVOU secured 49.2% of the votes cast.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 998,150 (2003)
  • Registered Voters: 476,758 ( 2003 )

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 494,515 (2003)

·         Is Cyprus a signatory to CEDAW: No 

·         Has Cyprus ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (23 July 1985)

·         Gender Quota: No

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 6 (following the 2001 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 32 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Cyprus a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Cyprus ratified CRPD: Yes (27 June 2011)

·         Population with a disability: 112,921 (est.)