Oct. 20, 2002 Held


Republic of Ecuador

Election for Ecuadorian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:5,128,158
Valid Votes:4,427,649
Invalid Votes:465,109

Vote Share by Candidate:

Lucio Edwin GUTIERREZ Borbua899,492


Alvaro Fernando NOBOA Ponton770,270


Leon ROLDOS Aguilera685,508


Rodrigo Borja CEVALLOS622,232


Antonio Xavier NEIRA Menendez541,408


Jacobo BUCARAM Ortiz525,539


Jacinto VELAZQUEZ Herrera165,811


Ivonne Leyla Juez ABUCHAKRA78,434


Cesar Augosto Alarcon COSTTA53,342


Osvaldo HURTADO Larrea47,621


Carlos Antonio VARGAS Guatatuca36,992

Election Results Modified: Aug 17, 2023

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Ecuador

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Gustavo NOBOA Bejarano *
  • Head of Government: President Gustavo NOBOA Bejarano
  • Assembly: Ecuador has a unicameral National Congress (Congreso Nacional) with 100 seats.

* President NOBOA Bejarano replaced Jamil MAHAUD following a coup in January 2000.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the National Congress (Congreso Nacional) 100 members are appointed through a party-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Each of the country's 22 provinces returns a minimum of two deputies plus one additional seat for every 200,000 inhabitants.

Main Candidates in the First Round of the Presidential race:

  • Lucio Edwin GUTIERREZ Borbua*
    • Party: Popular Socialist Party/Multinational Pachakutik United Movement (SPS/MUPP-NP)
  • Alvaro Fernando NOBOA Ponton*
    • Party: New Party for National Action (PRIAN)
  • Leon ROLDOS Aguilera
    • Party: Socialist Party (PS)
  • Rodrigo Borja CEVALLOS
    • Party: Democratic Left (ID)
  • Antonio Xavier NEIRA Menendez
    • Party: Social Christian Party (PSC)
  • Jacobo BUCARAM Ortiz
    • Party: Ecuadorian Rolosist Party (PRE)
  • Jacinto VELAZQUEZ Herrera
    • Party: Movimiento Transformación Social Independiente (TSI)
  • Ivonne Leyla Juez ABUCHAKRA
    • Party: Ecuadorian Liberal Radical Party (PLRE)
  • Cesar Augosto Alarcon COSTTA
    • Party: Liberal Party (PL)
  • Osvaldo HURTADO Larrea
    • Party: Patriotic Solidarity Movement (MPS)
  • Carlos Antonio VARGAS Guatatuca
    • Party: Indigeneous Movement Amauta Jatari (MIAJ)

* GUTIERREZ and NOBOA advanced to the second election round.

Last Presidential election:

  • Last presidential election held: July 12, 1998 (second round). Jamil MAHUAD was elected with 51.3% of votes over Alvaro Fernando Noboa Pontón with 48.7 % of the votes.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 13,072,056 (2002)
  • Registered Voters: 8,154,425 (2002)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 6,521,540 (2002)

·         Is Ecuador a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Ecuador ratified CEDAW: Yes (9 November 1981)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 16 (following the 2002 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 88 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Ecuador a signatory to CRPD: Yes 30 March 2007

·         Has Ecuador ratified CRPD: 3 April 2008

·         Population with a disability: 1,960,808 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Ecuador

With Participation Rates