May 5, 2011 Held

Scotland (part of the United Kingdom)


Election for Pàrlamaid na h-Alba (Scottish Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,997,720
Valid Votes:1,990,926
Invalid Votes:6,794

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Scottish National Party 69 - 876,421


Scottish Labour Party 37 - 523,559


Scottish Conservative Party 15 - 245,967


Scottish Liberal Democrats 5 - 103,472


Scottish Green Party (Pàrtaidh Uaine na h-Alba) 2 - - 87,060

Election Results Modified: Apr 25, 2011

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 129 seats in the Scottish Parliament (Pàrlamaid na h-Alba)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Queen ELIZABETH II
  • Head of Government: First Minister Alexander Elliot Anderson SALMOND
  • Assembly: Scotland (part of the United Kingdom) has a unicameral Scottish Parliament (Pàrlamaid na h-Alba) with 129 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The First Minister is appointed by the monarch.
  • In the Scottish Parliament (Pàrlamaid na h-Alba), 73 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms and 56 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** Seats in the proportional tier are allocated using the d'Hondt method.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 5,168,500 ( 2010 )
  • Registered Voters: 3,950,626 (March 2011 )
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Scotland (part of the United Kingdom)

With Participation Rates