Oct. 20, 2002 Held



Election for Skupstina (Montenegrin Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:340,050
Valid Votes:330,199
Invalid Votes:9,851

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Democratic List for European Montenegro 39 - 167,166


Coalition "Together for Changes" 30 - 133,900


Liberal Alliance in Montenegro 3 - 20,365


Coalition "Albanians Together" 2 - 8,498

Election Results Modified: Aug 17, 2023

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 75 seats in the Assembly (Skupstina)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Filip VUJANOVIC
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Milo DJUKANOVIC
  • Assembly: Montenegro has a unicameral Assembly (Skupstina) with 75 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected N/A to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Assembly (Skupstina) 75 members are elected by direct vote to serve 4-year terms.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Coalition: Democratic List for European Montenegro*
    • Leader: Milo DJUKANOVIC (DPS)and Ranko KRIVOKAPIC (SDP)
    • Seats won in this election: 39
    • Seats won in last election: 36
  • Coalition: Coalition "Together for Changes"**
    • Leader: Predrag BULATOVIC (SNP), Bozidar BOJEVIC (SNS), Dragan SOC (NS)
    • Seats won in this election: 30
    • Seats won in last election: 36
  • Party: Liberal Alliance in Montenegro (LSCG)
    • Leader: Miodrag ZIVKOVIC
    • Seats won in this election: 3
    • Seats won in last election: 6
  • Coalition: Coalition "Albanians Together"****
    • Leader: Fuad NIMANI (DUA), Mehmed BARDHI (DSCG) and Osman REDZA (PDP)
    • Seats won in this election: 2
    • Seats won in last election: 2

* The Democratic List for European Montenegro includes the Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS), Social Democratic Party (SDP), People's Unity, Citizen's Party and Citizen's Forum.
** "Together for Changes" includes the Socialist People's Party (SNP), Serbian People's Party (SNS), People's Party (NS).
**** Coalition "Albanians Together" includes the Democratic Union of Albanians (DUA), Democratic Alliance in Montenegro (DSCG) and Party for Democratic Prosperity (PDP).

Last Parliamentary election:

  • The last parliamentary election was held on April 21, 2001.

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 609,828 (2002)
  • Registered Voters: 456,981 ( 2002 Republican Election Commission)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 309,424 (2002)

·         Is Montenegro a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Montenegro ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (23 October 2006)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: -

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: - 

·         Human Development Index Position: 49 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

·         Is Montenegro a signatory to CRPD: Yes (27 September 2007)

·         Has Montenegro ratified CRPD: Yes (2 November 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 91,149 (est.)

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Montenegro

With Participation Rates