Nov. 28, 2011 Held

Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

Democratic Republic of the Congo

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Congo DRC National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:18,911,572
Valid Votes:18,911,572
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (Parti du Peuple pour la Reconstruction et la Democratie) 111 - - -

Movement for the Liberation of Congo (Mouvement pour la Liberation du Congo) 64 - - -

Social Movement for Renewal (Mouvement Social pour le Renouveau) 27 - - -

Union pour la Nation Congolaise (Union pour la Nation Congolaise) 26 - -

Congolese Rally for Democracy (Rassemblement Congloais pour la Democratie) 15 - - -

Christian Democratic Party (Parti Démocrate Chrétien) 8 - - -

Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • 500 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Joseph KABILA
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Adolphe MUZITO **
  • Assembly: Democratic Republic of the Congo has a bicameral Parliament (Parlement) consisting of the Senate (Sénat) with 112 seats and the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 500 seats.

** Usually from the majority party or coalition in the National Assembly (lower house).

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by plurality vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the President.
  • In the Senate (Sénat) 112 members are indirectly elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms*. In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale), 60 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms and 440 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.**

* Members are elected by regional legislatures. Each multi-member district corresponds to one of 26 provinces or Kinshasha. The magnitude of each district is 4, except Kinshasha, whose magnitude is 8. The electoral system is open-list PR. Former Presidents may be Senators ex officio.

** There are 109 multi-member districts in the list tier. Minimum magnitude is 2. Each voter gets two votes: one in either tier.

Main parties in the electoral race:

  • Party: People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (PPRD) / Parti du Peuple pour la Reconstruction et la Democratie
    • Leader: Joseph KABILA
  • Party: Movement for the Liberation of Congo / Mouvement pour la Liberation du Congo (MLC)
    • Leader: Jean-Pierre BEMBA
  • Party: Union pour la Nation Congolaise (UNC)
    • Leader: Vital KAMERHE
  • Party: Congolese Rally for Democracy / Rassemblement Congloais pour la Democratie
    • Leader: Azaria RUBERWA
  • Party: Social Movement for Renewal (MSR) / Mouvement Social pour le Renouveau
    • Leader: Pierre LUMBI
  • Party: Christian Democratic Party / Parti Démocrate Chrétien (PDC)
    • Leader: Jose Endundo BONONGE

Population and registered voters:

  • Population: 68,087,376 (2011)
  • Registered voters: 32,024,640 (2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 34,179,862 (2011)

·         Is Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CEDAW: Yes (17 October 1986)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 44 (National Assembly) (following 2011 elections); 5 (Senate) (following 2007 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 176 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very High (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Democratic Republic of the Congo a signatory to CRPD: No

·         Has Democratic Republic of the Congo ratified CRPD: Yes, accession (30 September 2015)

·         Population with a disability: 10,213,106 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Congo (Kinshasa), Democratic Republic of the

With Participation Rates