Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

Nov. 25, 2011 Held


Kingdom of Morocco

Election for Majlis al-Nuwab (Moroccan Chamber of Representatives)


Cast Votes:6,106,964
Valid Votes:4,745,453
Invalid Votes:1,361,511


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

National Rally of Independents 52 None

Socialist Union of Popular Forces 39 None

Popular Movement 32 None

Istiqlal Party 60 None

Constitutional Union 23 None

Front of Democratic Forces 1 None

Party of Justice and Development 107 None

Party of Progress and Socialism 18 None

Authenticity and Modernity Party (PAM) (Authenticité et Modernité) 47 None

Labour Party (PT) (Parti Travailliste) 4 None

Democratic and Social Movement (MDS) (Democratic and Social Movement (MDS)) 2 None

Renewal and Equality Party (PRE) (Parti du Renouveau et de l'Equité) 2 None

Party of Environment and Sustainable Development (PEDD) (Party of Environment and Sustainable Development (PEDD)) 2 None

Democratic Al Ahd Party (Democratic Al Ahd Party) 2 None

Moroccan Green Left Party (PGV) (Moroccan Green Left Party (PGV)) 1 None

Freedom and Social Justice Party (PLJS) (Parti de la Liberté et de la Justice Sociale) 1 None

Action Party (PA) (Parti de l'Action) 1 None

Unity and Democracy Party (Unity and Democracy Party) 1 None

More Info:

At stake in this election:

  • 325 seats in the Chamber of Representatives (Majlis al-Nuwab)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King MOHAMED VI
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Abbas EL FASSI
  • Assembly: Morocco has a bicameral Parliament (Barlaman) consisting of the Chamber of Counselors (Majlis al-Mustacharin) with 270 seats and the Chamber of Representatives (Majlis al-Nuwab) with 325 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The King is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the monarch. The monarch is required to choose the prime minister from the largest party in parliament.
  • In the Chamber of Counselors (Majlis al-Mustacharin) 270 members are elected by indirect vote to serve 9-year terms*. In the Chamber of Representatives (Majlis al-Nuwab), 295 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 5-year terms and 30 members are reserved for women to serve 5-year terms.**

* Members are elected indirectly by local councils, professional organizations, and labor syndicates. One-third of the members are renewed every three years.

** 295 members are elected in 95 multi-seat constituencies. The thirty reserved seats are from a national list of women.

Main parties in the electoral race:

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 32,531,964 (2011)
  • Registered Voters: 13,451,404 (July 2011)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 16,512,813 (2011)

·         Is Morocco a signatory to CEDAW: No

·         Has Morocco ratified CEDAW: Yes, accession (21 June 1993)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: N/A

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 34 (following the 2007 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 126 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Morocco a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Morocco ratified CRPD: Yes (8 April 2009)

·         Population with a disability: 4,879,794 (est.)