June 2, 2024 Held


United Mexican States

Election for Mexican Presidency

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • The Presidency of Mexico

Elections for the Chamber of Deputies, Senate, and many state and local offices will be held concurrently.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Andrés Manuel LÓPEZ OBRADOR (since 1 December 2018)
  • Head of Government: President Andrés Manuel LÓPEZ OBRADOR (since 1 December 2018)
  • Assembly: bicameral National Congress (Congreso de la Unión) with a 128-seat Senate (Cámara de Senadores) and a 500-seat Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados)

Electoral System:

  • The President is directly elected by plurality vote and serves a single 6-year term.
  • In the Senate, 96 members are elected by plurality vote from multi-seat constituencies, and an additional 32 members are elected by proportional representation vote from a nationwide constituency. All 128 members are directly elected and serve unlimited 6-year terms.
  • In the Chamber of Deputies, 300 members are elected by plurality vote in single-seat constituencies and an additional 200 members are elected by proportional representation vote in a nationwide constituency. All 500 members are directly elected and serve unlimited 3-year terms.

Last Election:

In the 2018 presidential election, Andrés Manuel LÓPEZ OBRADOR (Juntos Haremos Historia) won with 53.1% of the vote, defeating three other candidates. Voter turnout was 63.43%.

Information for Voters:

Get to Know the Candidates / Candidatas y Candidatos, Conóceles (in Spanish)

Find Your Polling Place / Ubica Tu Casilla (in Spanish)

New/Unique in this Election:

On 2 March 2023, Congress approved a set of reforms to laws on elections, political parties, judicial powers, and electoral crimes. These reforms would have cut the budget  and staff of the National Electoral Institute (INE) and relaxed restrictions on partisan speech and activities by public officials. However, the Supreme Court struck down part of these reforms on 8 May 2023 and struck the remainder on 22 June 2023 on the basis that Congress had violated the constitutional principle of democratic deliberation in their haste to pass the reforms. The Court also reinstated prior electoral laws.

Key Deadlines:

  • Candidate filing deadline:  22 February 2024
  • Voter registration deadline: N/A; Voter registration is passive.
    • Voters who turn 18 between 1 September 2023 and election day, as well as voters who would like to register a change of address had until 22 January 2022 to register.

Main Candidates in this Election:

  • Jorge ÁLVAREZ Maynez
    • Movimiento Ciudadano
  • Xochitl GÁLVEZ Ruiz
    • Fuerza y Corazón por México (Coalition made up of PAN, PRI, PRD)
  • Claudia SHEINBAUM Pardo
    • Sigamos Haciendo Historia (Coalition made up of Morena, PT, PVEM)

Population and Registered Voters:

Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 17 December 2007
  • Projected population with a disability: 20,400,661 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources:

  • Does IFES have a presence in Mexico: No  
  • Election Access: Yes
  • Election Judgments: Yes, 19 judgments and 24 resources
Election Modified: Jun 14, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Mexico

With Participation Rates