April 24, 2024 Confirmed

North Macedonia

Republic of North Macedonia

Election for North Macedonian Presidency

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • The Presidency of North Macedonia

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Stevo PENDAROVSKI (since 12 May 2019)
  • Head of Government: Caretaker Prime Minister Talat XHAFERI (since 28 January 2024)
  • Assembly: unicameral Assembly (Собрание) with 120 seats

Electoral System:

  • The President is directly elected in up to two rounds of voting. To be elected in the first round, a candidate must win an absolute majority of votes from all registered voters. To be elected in the second round, a candidate must win an absolute majority and voter turnout must be at least 40%, otherwise the result is deemed invalid. The President may serve up to two 5-year terms.
  • In the Assembly, 120 members are directly elected via closed-list proportional representation vote from six constituencies. An additional 3 members may be elected from a single overseas constituency via proportional representation vote so long as the winning list receives at least as many votes as the MP elected with the fewest number of votes in the prior assembly election. All members serve renewable 5-year terms.

Last Election:

In the 2019 presidential election, Stevo PENDAROVSKI (SDSM and BDI coalition) won the presidency with 42.84% of the vote. Voter turnout was 41.79%.

Information for Voters:

Instructions / Упатства / Udhëzime (in Macedonian and Albanian)

New/Unique in this Election:

Parliament approved a variety of updates to North Macedonia’s electoral code on March 7. One of the new provisions allows North Macedonians to vote with documents that expired up to 9 months ahead of elections, meaning that many can use passports and driver’s licenses containing the country’s old name, the Republic of Macedonia, as a valid ID. This change is a direct response to many voters’ inability to apply for and receive new documents with the name “Republic of North Macedonia” before their IDs with the old name expired on February 12 after the government was overwhelmed by requests. Without this change in policy, it is estimated that 100,000 North Macedonians would have been unable to vote.

Key Deadlines:

  • Candidate filing deadline:  19 March 2024
  • Voter registration deadline: Voter registration is passive for in-country voters.  For overseas voters, the registration deadline was 18 March 2024.

Main Candidates in this Election:

    • Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM)
    • Citizens Option for North Macedonia (GROM)
    • Movement for our Macedonia (ZNAM)
  • Arben TARAVARI
    • VLEN (Worth) Coalition
    • Levica (The Left)
  • Bujar OSMANI
    • Democratic Union for Integration (DUI)

Population and Registered Voters:

Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 29 December 2011
  • Projected population with a disability: 329,229 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources:

  • Does IFES have a presence in North Macedonia: Yes, office
  • Election Access: Yes
  • Election Judgements: Yes, 17 resources
Election Modified: Apr 12, 2024

Most Recent Elections in North Macedonia

With Participation Rates