June 9, 2024 Held

San Marino

Republic of San Marino

Election for Consiglio Grande e Generale (Sammarinese Grand and General Council)


Results Notes

Results Source: Segretaria di Stato per gli Affari Interni e Funzione Pubblica

Election Results Modified: Jun 11, 2024

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 60 seats on the Sammarinese Grand and General Council

  • Chief of State: Captains Regent Alessandro ROSSI and Milena GASPERONI (since 1 April 2024) 

  • Head of Government: N/A 

  • Assembly: unicameral Grand and General Council (Consiglio Grande e Generale) with 60 seats

  • The Captains Regent are indirectly elected by the Grand and General Council and serve a 6-month term. There is no absolute term limit, but Captains Regent must not serve an additional term within three years of the prior term. 

  • All 60 members of the Grand and General Council are directly elected by list proportional representation vote in up to two rounds. All members serve unlimited 5-year terms.

In the 2019 legislative election, the San Marino Christian Democratic Party (PDCS) won the largest share of seats (21 out of 60) followed by five additional parties. Voter turnout was 55.73%.

Information for Voters: 

Come si vota / How to vote (in Italian)

Key Deadlines: 

  • 30 April for coalitions 

  • 4 May for political parties not participating in coalitions 

  • Voter registration deadline: N/A; Voter registration is passive and residence-based.

  • Libera/PS – PSD 

  • Coalition made up of Libera/PS and PSD 

  • Leader: Dalibor RICCARDI 

  • Seats won in last election: 18 out of 60 (10 Libera and 8 PS-PSD) 

  • Democracy and Liberty / Democrazia e Libertà  

  • Coalition made up of PDCS and Alleanza Riformista 

  • Leader: Gian Carlo VENTURINI and  

  • Seats won in last election: 21 out of 60 (all PDCS) 

  • Supportive Democracy / Democrazia Solidale (Demos) 

  • Leader: Carlo BOFFA 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 60 (new party) 

  • Future Republic / Repubblica Futura (RF) 

  • Leader: Roberto GIORGETTI 

  • Seats won in last election: 6 out of 60 

  • Tomorrow – Free Movement / Domani – Motus Liberi (DML) 

  • Leader: Lorenzo Forcellini REFFI 

  • Seats won in last election: 4 out of 60 

  • RETE Civic Movement / Movimento Civico RETE 

  • Leader: Emanuele SANTI 

  • Seats won in last election: 11 out of 60

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

  • CEDAW Status: Signed 26 September 2003, Ratified 10 December 2003 

  • Gender Quota: On each party or coalition list, candidates of the same gender may not take up more than two-thirds of list entries (Legge 31 gennaio 1996 no. 6, Art. 15.1). 

  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes 

  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Not available 

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 22 February 2008 

  • Projected population with a disability: 5,386 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in San Marino: No 

  • Election Access: Yes 

  • Election Judgments: Yes, 6 resources 

Election Modified: Jun 11, 2024

Most Recent Elections in San Marino

With Participation Rates