May 5, 2024 Held


Republic of Panama

Election for Asamblea Nacional (Panamanian National Assembly)

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 71 seats of the Panamanian National Assembly 

The presidential election, as well as subnational elections, will take place concurrently.

  • Chief of State: President Laurentino “Nito” CORTIZO Cohen (since 1 July 2019) 

  • Head of Government: President Laurentino “Nito” CORTIZO Cohen (since 1 July 2019) 

  • Assembly: unicameral National Assembly (Asamblea Nacional) with 71 seats

  • The President is directly elected by simple majority vote along with a vice president on the same ballot. The presidential term is 5 years. While there is no absolute term limit, the President may not serve consecutive terms.  

  • In the National Assembly, 45 members are directly elected by open-list proportional representation vote from multi-seat constituencies. The remaining 26 members are directly elected by plurality vote from single-seat districts. All 71 members serve 5-year terms, and there are no term limits.

In the 2019 legislative election, the Democratic Revolutionary Party (PRD) won the largest share of seats with 36. Three additional parties and 5 independent candidates also won seats. Turnout was 70.71%.

Information for Voters: 

Verify Your Information to Find Where to Vote / Verifícate para conocer dónde vas a votar (in Spanish)

New/Unique in this Election:  

On 22 October 2021, the National Assembly passed Law 247, modifying many components of the electoral code. The law recategorizes and expands electoral crimes. Additionally, the law prohibits parties and candidates from accepting donations from government contractors or concessionaires, religious organizations, or individuals convicted of certain crimes (drug/human trafficking, terrorism, etc.). The campaign period for general elections was increased from 60 to 90 days, and “campaigning” was redefined to include only paid activities. 

The National Assembly also passed Law 299 on 5 May 2022, redrawing some of Panama’s 39 electoral constituencies. The law increased the number of seats allocated to constituencies within Panamá Oeste and renumbered the constituencies of Panamá.

  • Candidate filing deadline: Varies by affiliation 

  • Political parties must submit their candidate lists by 31 December 2023. 

  • Candidates not affiliated with a political party must apply for pre-candidacy by 31 July 2022 and submit voter signatures by 31 July 2023. 

  • Voter registration deadline: N/A; All Panamanians who have a national ID card and who will be 18 by election day are automatically included on the voter roll. The voter roll will close on 5 January 2023. 

  • Overseas residents must register by 27 December 2023 to be included in the overseas voter roll.

  • Democratic Revolutionary Party / Partido Revolucionário Democrático (PRD) 

  • Leader: Benicio Enacio ROBINSON Grajales 

  • Seats won in last election: 36 out of 71 

  • People’s Party / Partido Popular 

  • Leader: Daniel Javier BREA Clavel 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 71 

  • Liberal Republican Nationalist Movement / Movimiento Liberal Republicano Nacionalista (MOLIRENA) 

  • Leader: Francisco ALEMÁN Mendoza 

  • Seats won in last election: 4 out of 71 

  • Panamanian Party / Partido Panameñista (PAN) 

  • Leader: José Isabel BLANDON Figueroa 

  • Seats won in last election: 8 out of 71 

  • Democratic Change / Cambio Democrático (CD) 

  • Leader: Rómulo ROUX 

  • Seats won in last election: 18 out of 71 

  • Alliance Party / Partido Alianza 

  • Leader: José MUÑOZ Molina 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 71 

  • Achieving Goals / Realizando Metas (RM) 

  • Leader: Ricardo Alberto MARTINELLI Berrocal 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 71 (founded in 2021) 

  • Independent Social Alternative Party / Partido Alternativa Independiente Social (PAÍS) 

  • Leader: José Alberto ÁLVAREZ Álvarez 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 71 

  • Other Way Movement / Movimiento Otro Camino (MOCA) 

  • Leader: Ricardo Alberto LOMBANA González 

  • Seats won in last election: 0 out of 71 

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 7 August 2007 

  • Projected population with a disability: 705,373 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in Panama: No 

  • Election Access: Yes 

  • Election Judgements:  Yes, 4 judgements and 5 resources 

Election Modified: May 08, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Panama

With Participation Rates