Feb. 14, 2024 Held


Republic of Indonesia

Election for Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat (Indonesian House of Representatives)

General Information

At Stake in this Election:

  • All 580 seats in the Indonesian House of Representatives

The presidential and Regional Representative Council elections will occur concurrently.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Joko “Jokowi” WIDODO (since 20 October 2014)
  • Head of Government: President Joko “Jokowi” WIDODO (since 20 October 2014)
  • Assembly: bicameral People’s Consultative Assembly (Majelis Permusyawaratan Rakyat) with a 152-seat Regional Representative Council (Dewan Perwakilan Daerah) and a 580-seat House of Representatives (Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat)

Electoral System:

  • The President is directly elected by absolute majority vote and may serve up to two 5-year terms. The President and Vice-President are elected as a slate.
  • In the Regional Representative Council, all 152 members are directly elected by proportional representation vote from multi-seat constituencies. All members serve 5-year terms, and they are elected as independents.
  • In the House of Representatives, all 580 members are directly elected by single non-transferable vote from multi-seat constituencies. All members serve 5-year terms.

Information for Voters:

Kilas Pemilu Tahun 2024 / A Look at the 2024 Election (in Bahasa Indonesia)

New/Unique in this Election:

In 2022, the House of Representatives passed a bill to create three new provinces in the Papua region: Central Papua, South Papua, and Central Highlands Papua. Law No 7/2023 was passed to establish provincial election management bodies in these new administrative divisions.

Key Deadlines:

  • Candidate filing deadline: 14 May 2023
  • Voter registration deadline: Voter rolls were closed on 14 October 2022, however citizens who meet voting requirements can still vote on election day by presenting their electronic national identity card (KTP) or family card (KK).

Main Parties in this Election:

  • Indonesian Democratic Party - Struggle / Partai Demokrasi Indonesia Perjuangan (PDIP)
  • Golkar Party / Partai Golkar
  • Gerindra Party / Partai Gerakan Indonesia Raya
  • Nasdem Party / Partai Nasdem
  • Democratic Party / Partai Demokrat
  • Prosperous Justice Party / Partai Keadilan Sejahtera (PKS)
  • National Mandate Party / Partai Amanat Nasional
  • Labor Party / Partai Buruh
  • Indonesian People’s Wave Party / Partai Gelombang Rakyat Indonesia
  • Archipelago Awakening Party / Partai Kebangkitan Nusantara
  • People’s Conscience Party / Partai Hati Nurani Rakyat
  • Indonesian Guard for Change Party / Partai Garda Perubahan Indonesia
  • Star Moon Party / Partai Bulan Bintang
  • Indonesian Solidarity Party / Partai Solidaritas Indonesia
  • Perindo Party / Partai Perindo
  • Nangroe Aceh Party / Partai Nangroe Aceh
  • Atjeh Beusaboh Tha’at and Taqwa Generation Party / Partai Generasi Atjeh Beusaboh Tha'at Dan Taqwa
  • Darul Aceh Party / Partai Darul Aceh
  • Aceh Party / Partai Aceh
  • Aceh Prosperous Justice Party / Partai Adil Sejahtera Aceh
  • Acehnese People’s Independent Solidarity Party / Partai Soliditas Independent Rakyat Aceh
  • Ummat Party / Partai Ummat

Population and Registered Voters:

Gender Data:

Disability Data:

  • CRPD Status: Signed 30 March 2007, Ratified 30 November 2011
  • Projected population with a disability: 44,080,214 (2022 est.)

IFES Resources:

  • IFES Election Snapshot: Yes
  • Does IFES have a presence in Indonesia: Yes, office  
  • Election Access: Yes
  • Election Judgements: Yes, 8 judgements and 13 resources
Election Modified: Feb 14, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Indonesia

With Participation Rates