April 24, 2023 Held

Virgin Islands, British

British Virgin Islands

Election for British Virgin Islands House of Assembly


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:9,275
Valid Votes:9,171
Invalid Votes:104

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Virgin Islands Party 6 - 3,632


Progressive Virgin Islands Movement (Progressive Virgin Islands Movement) 3 - 1,439


National Democratic Party 3 - - 2,668


Progressives United (Progressives United) 1 - - 459

Election Results Modified: Nov 06, 2023

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • 13 seats of the British Virgin Islands House of Assembly 

Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: King CHARLES III (since 8 September 2022) 

  • Represented by Governor John J. RANKIN (since 29 January 2021) 

  • Head of Government: Premier Dr. Natalio WHEATLEY (since 5 May 2022) 

  • Assembly: unicameral House of Assembly with 15 seats 

Electoral System:  

  • The King is a hereditary monarch, and he appoints the Governor. 

  • The Premier (usually the House majority leader) is appointed by the Governor. 

  • In the House of Assembly, 13 members are directly elected by plurality vote: 9 members in single-seat constituencies (districts) and 4 members in a single, nationwide constituency. An additional two members—the Attorney General and Speaker—are elected from outside the House by the other members. All members serve 4-year terms. 

Last Election: 

In 2019, the Virgin Islands Party won a majority with 8 seats. The National Democratic Party won 3 seats, while the Progressive Virgin Islands Movement and Progressives United each won a single seat. Voter turnout was 64.6%. 

New/Unique in this Election:  

On 5 May 2022, Premier Andrew Fahie was arrested on drug trafficking and money laundering-related charges. He was replaced by current premier Dr. Natalio Wheatley. 

Key Deadlines: 

Main Parties in this Election:  

  • Virgin Islands Party (VIP) 

  • Leader: Natalio WHEATLEY 

  • Seats won in the last election: 8 out of 13 

  • National Democratic Party (NDP) 

  • Leader: Marlon PENN 

  • Seats won in the last election: 3 out of 13 

  • Progressive Virgin Islands Movement (PVIM) 

  • Leader: Ronnie SKELTON 

  • Seats won in the last election: 1 out of 13 

  • Progressives United (PU) 

  • Leader: Julian FRASER 

  • Seats won in the last election: 1 out of 13 

Population and Registered Voters: 

Gender Data: 

  • Gender Quota:  No 

  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes 

  • Number of Female Legislators (pre-election): 4 out of 14 in the House of Assembly 

  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: Not available  

  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Not available  

Disability Data: 

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in the British Virgin Islands: No 

  • Election Access: Yes 

Election Modified: Sep 19, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Virgin Islands, British

With Participation Rates