Jan. 8, 2023 Held


Republic of Benin

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Beninese National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,558,446
Valid Votes:2,477,908
Invalid Votes:80,538

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

Progressive Union (Union Progressiste) 53 - 930,714


The Democrats (Les Democrates) 28 - 598,560


Republican Bloc (Bloc Républicain) 28 - 724,240

Election Results Modified: Apr 26, 2023

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • All 109 members of the National Assembly of the Republic of Benin 

Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: President Patrice TALON (since 6 Apr 2016) 

  • Head of Government: President Patrice TALON (since 6 Apr 2016) 

  • Assembly: A unicameral National Assembly with 109 members 

Electoral System:  

  • The President is directly elected in a two-round system, in which a candidate must receive a majority of votes to be elected. They are elected to a five-year term, with a limit of two terms. 

  • The 109 members of the National Assembly are elected by proportional representation in 24 multi-member constituencies. They are elected to five-year terms, with a limit of three terms. 

Last Election: 

  • The Progressive Union won a majority with 47 seats, with the remaining 36 seats going to the Republican Bloc.  

  • Elections were not held in 39 of the 546 districts due to local conflict. 

Since Last Election: 

  • Increase of members of the National Assembly from 83 to 109 

  • Lengthening of terms of National Assembly members from 4 years to 5 

  • Limit added of three terms per National Assembly member 

  • One seat per constituency will now be reserved for females for a total of 24 seats 

  • The post of vice president was added, which will be elected concurrently with presidential, legislative, and municipal elections beginning in January 2026 

Key Deadlines

  • Candidate filing deadline: November 2 

  • Voter registration deadline: N/A 

Main Parties in this Election:  

  • Progressive Union for Renewal (UPR) 

  • Leader: Joseph DJOGBENOU 

  • Seats won in last election: 47 

  • Republican Bloc (BR) 

  • Leader: Abdoulaye BIO TCHANÉ 

  • Seats won in last election: 36 

  • Movement of Elites Committed to the Emancipation of Benin (MOELE-BENIN) 

  • Leader: Jacques OHS AYADJI 

  • Seats won in last election: N/A 

  • Democratic Union for a New Benin (UDBN) 

  • Leader: Claudine PRUDENCIO 

  • Seats won in last election: N/A 

  • Popular Liberation Movement (MPL) 

  • Leader: N/A 

  • Seats won in last election: N/A 

  • Democrats 

  • Leader: Eric HOUNDETE 

  • Seats won in last election: N/A 

  • Cowry Forces for an Emerging Benin 

  • Leader: Paul HOUNKPE 

  • Seats won in last election: N/A 

Population and Registered Voters: 

  • Population: 13,754,688 (2022 est.) 

  • Registered Voters: 6,599,223 (2022) 

Gender Data: 

Disability Data: 

  • CRPD Status: Signed 08 Feb 2008, Ratified 05 Jul 2012  

  • Projected population with a disability: 2,063,203 (2022 est.) 

IFES Resources: 

  • Does IFES have a presence in Benin: No 

Election Modified: Mar 21, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Benin

With Participation Rates