March 19, 2022 Held


Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

Election for Timorese Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:664,106
Valid Votes:651,859
Invalid Votes:12,247

Vote Share by Candidate:

José RAMOS-HORTA303,477


Francisco GUTERRES144,282


Armanda Berta DOS SANTOS56,690




Mariano "Assanami" SABINO LOPES47,334


Anacleto BENTO FERREIRA13,205

Election Results Modified: Apr 11, 2022

General Information

At Stake in this Election: 

  • The Office of the President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste 

Government Structure: 

  • Chief of State: President Francisco GUTERRES (since 20 May 2017) 
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Taur Matan RUAK (since 22 June 2018) 
  • Assembly: The National Parliament (Parlamentu Nasionál / Parlamento Nacional) is a unicameral legislature consisting of 65 seats. 

Electoral System: [1]

  • The President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste is elected to a five-year term using a two-round system, in which candidates must receive an absolute majority of the popular vote to win office. 
  • The National Parliament (Parlamentu Nasionál / Parlamento Nacional) is a unicameral legislature consisting of 65 seats, in which members are directly elected to five-year terms using list proportional representation in a single nationwide constituency.  

Last Election: 

  • The last presidential elections in Timor-Leste were held on 20 March 2017, while the most recent elections were held for the National Parliament (Parlamentu Nasionál / Parlamento Nacional) on 12 May 2018. 

Main Candidates in this Election: [2]

  • Candidate: Isabel da Costa FERREIRA 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Hermes da Rosa Correia BARROS 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Maria Ângela Freitas DA SILVA 
    • Party: East Timor Labour Party / Partido Trabalhista Timor-Leste 
  • Candidate: Rogério Tiago Fátima LOBATO 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Anacleto Bento FERREIRA 
    • Party: Timor Democratic Republic Party (PDRT) / Partido Democrática Republica de Timor 
  • Candidate: Francisco “Lú-Olo” GUTERRES 
    • Party: Revolutionary Front for an Independent East Timor (Fretilin) / Frente Revolucionária de Timor-Leste Independente 
  • Candidate: Maria Helena Lopez de Jesus PIRES 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Tito da Costa CRISTÓVÃO 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Armanda Berta DOS SANTOS 
    • Party: National Unity of the Sons of Timor Party (KHUNTO) / Kmanek Haburas Unidade Nasional Timor Oan 
  • Candidate: Antero Benedito SILVA 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Constâncio da Conceção PINTO 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Virgílio da Silva GUTERRES 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Martinho Germano da Silva GUSMÃO 
    • Party: United Party for Development and Democracy (PUDD) / Partidu Unidade Dezenvolvimentu Demokratiku 
  • Candidate: José Ramos HORTA 
    • Party: National Congress for Timorese Reconstruction (CNRT) / Congresso Nacional de Reconstrução de Timor 
  • Candidate: Felizberto Araújo DUARTE 
    • Party: Independent 
  • Candidate: Mariano Assanami Sabino LOPES 
    • Party: Democratic Party (PD) / Partido Democrático 

Population and Registered Voters: 

  • Population: 1,413,958 (July 2021 est.) [3]
  • Registered Voters: 859,613 [4]

Gender Data: 

  • Female Population: 692,237 (July 2021 est.) [5]
  • Is Timor-Leste a signatory to CEDAW: No [6]
  • Has Timor-Leste ratified CEDAW: Acceded on 16 April 2003 [7]
  • Gender Quota: Yes, there are legislated gender quotas. One out of every group of three candidates on electoral lists must be a woman. [8]
  • Female candidates in this election: Four out of sixteen candidates are women. 
  • Number of Female Legislators: 26 out of 65 seats are held by women. [9]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: Rank 141 at 0.606 (2020) [10]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A [11]
Election Modified: Dec 08, 2022

Most Recent Elections in Timor-Leste

With Participation Rates