Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

Sept. 16, 2021 Held


Commonwealth of the Bahamas

Election for Bahaman House of Assembly

More Info:

Commonwealth of the Bahamas: House of Assembly, 16 September 2021

Prime Minister Dr. Hubert MINNIS called snap elections for 16 September 2021. Elections are not constitutionally due until May 2022. 

At stake in this election:

  • 39 seats in the House of Assembly

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State:  Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor General Dame Marguerite PINDLING (since 8 July 2014)
  • Head of Government:  Prime Minister Perry CHRISTIE (since 8 May 2012)
  • Assembly:  The Bahamas has a bicameral Parliament of the 16-seat Senate and the 38-seat House of Assembly.

Description of electoral system:

  • The Queen is the hereditary head of state.
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the governor-general.
  • In the Senate 16 members are appointed by the governor-general to serve 5-year terms. In the House of Assembly 39 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms

Last Election:

  • The  Free National Movement won the majority of seats in 2017 with 35 seats. The Progressive Liberal Party won 4 seats, and the Democratic National Alliance was unable to secure any seats.