Oct. 2, 2022 Held

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Election for Chairman of the Presidency (Bosnia and Herzegovina Presidency)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,733,206
Valid Votes:1,617,933
Invalid Votes:115,273

Vote Share by Candidate:

Denis BEĆIROVIĆ (Bosniak)330,238


Zeljka CVIJANOVIC(Serb)327,720


Zeljko KOMSIC(Croat)227,540


Mirko SAROVIC(Serb)224,912


Bakir IZETBEGOVIC (Bosniak)214,412


Borjana KRISTO (Croat)180,255

Election Results Modified: Mar 10, 2023

General Information

At Stake in this Election:         

  • The Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina* 


*NOTE: The presidency of BiH consists of three members.  


Government Structure:  

  • Chief of State: Chairman of the Presidency Sefik DZAFEROVIC, Presidency Member Zeljko KOMSIC, and Presidency Member Milorad DODIK** 

  • Head of Government: Chairman of the Council of Ministers Zoran TEGELTIJA  

  • Assembly: Bicameral Parliamentary Assembly (Skupstina) which consists of the House of Peoples (Dom Naroda), which has 15 seats and the House of Representatives (Predstavnicki Dom) which has 42 seats.  

**NOTE: Bosnia and Herzegovina has a tripartite presidency that has a rotating Chairman. 


Electoral System:  

  • The Presidency is comprised of three members (1 Bosniak and 1 Croat are elected from the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 1 Serb is elected from the Republika Srpska). Members of the Presidency are directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 4-year term. The presidency chairmanship rotates every 8 months with the new member of the presidency elected with the highest number of votes.  

  • The Chairman of the Council of Ministers is appointed by the presidency and confirmed by the state-level House of Representatives.  

  • Members of the House of Peoples are designated by the Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina’s House of Peoples and the Republika Srpska’s National Assembly to serve four-year terms. Members of the House of Representatives are directly elected by proportional representation to serve 4-year terms.  


Main Candidates in this Election:   

  • Candidates for the Bosniak Member Election: 

    • Bakir Izetbegovic 

      • Party: Party of Democratic Action 

    • Mirsad Hadzikadic 

      • Party: Platform for Progress 

    • Denis Becirovic 

      • Party: Social Democratic Party 

  • Candidates for the Croat Member Election: 

    • Zeljko Komsic 

      • Party: Democratic Front  

    • Borjana Kristo 

      • Party: Croatian Democratic Union 

  • Candidates for the Serb Member Election: 

    • Zeljka Cvijanovic 

      • Party: Alliance of Independent Social Democrats 

    • Nenad Nesic 

      • Party: Democratic People’s Alliance 

    • Vojin Mijatovic 

      • Party: Social Democratic Party 

    • Mirko Sarovic 

      • Party: Serb Democratic Party  

    • Borislav Bijelic 

      • Party: Party of Life 


Population and Registered Voters:  


Gender Data:  


Disability Data:  


IFES Resources:  

  • Does IFES have a presence in Bosnia and Herzegovina: No 

  • Election FAQs: Yes 

Election Modified: Mar 10, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Bosnia and Herzegovina

With Participation Rates