Dec. 27, 2020 Held


Republic of Niger

Election for Nigerien Presidency

General Information

At stake in this election:

  • The office of the President of the Republic of Niger


Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President OUSSEINI Tinni (since 20 March 2016)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Brigi RAFINI (since 7 April 2011)
  • Niger has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblee Nationale) with 171 seats.


Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term. The President is limited to two 5-year terms.*
  • The 171 members of the National Assembly are elected by two methods; 158 members are elected from eight multi-member constituencies based on the seven regions and Niamey by party-list proportional representation. A further eight seats are reserved for national minorities and five seats for Nigeriens living abroad, all elected from single-member constituencies by first-past-the-post voting.

*If no candidate receives a majority of the vote in the first round, a second round will be held on 21 February 2021.


Main Candidates in this Election:*

  • Candidate: Mohamed Bazoum
    • Party: Nigerien Party for Democracy and Socialism

*A total of 30 candidates are running in the election.[1]


[1] https://www.dw.com/en/niger-election-just-the-start-of-challenges-for-new-president/a-56028361

Election Modified: Aug 23, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Niger

With Participation Rates