Nov. 18, 2019 Confirmed

Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Election for Nitijela (Marshallese Parliament)


Election Results Modified: Oct 13, 2023

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • The 33 seats in the Parliament (Nitijela)

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Hilda HEINE (since 28 January 2016)
  • Head of Government: President Hilda HEINE (since 28 January 2016)
  • Assembly: Marshall Islands has a unicameral Parliament (Nitijela) with 33 seats.

Electoral System:

  • The President is elected by parliament to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Parliament (Nitijela) 33 members are elected by plurality vote in multi-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.

Main Candidates in this Election:

  • Independents
    • Seats won in last election: 33

*Marshall Islands traditionally has not had political parties, although there are groupings which compete: the United Democratic Party and Aelon Kein Ad.

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 75,684 (July 2018 est.)[1]
  • Registered Voters: 44,588 (2015)[2]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 37,224[3]
  • Is Marshall Islands a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Marshall Islands ratified CEDAW: Yes (2 March 2006)[4]
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 3 (9.1%)[5]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 106[6]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Marshall Islands a signatory to CRPD: No
  • Has Marshall Islands ratified CRPD: Yes (17 March 2015)[7]
  • Population with a disability: 10,829 (est.)[8]
Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Marshall Islands

With Participation Rates