June 28, 2020 Held


Republic of Poland

Election for Polish Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:19,483,760
Valid Votes:19,425,459
Invalid Votes:58,301

Vote Share by Candidate:

Andrzej Sebastian Duda19,425,459


Rafał Trzaskowski5,917,340


Szymon Hołownia2,693,397


Krzysztof Bosak1,317,380


Władysław Kosiniak-Kamysz459,365


Robert Biedroń432,129

Election Results Modified: Jul 02, 2020

General Information

Election postponed from May 10, 2020 due to COVID-19.

Poland: President, 28 June 2020

Update: after the first round of voting, no candidate secured enough votes to avoid a run-off. Andrzej Duda and Rafał Trzaskowski will face off in a second round vote on July 12. 

At stake in this election:     

  • The office of President of Poland

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Andrzej DUDA (since 5 August 2015)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mateusz MORAWIECKI (since 11 December 2017)­
  • Assembly: Poland has a bicameral Parliament consisting of the Senat (Upper House) with 100 seats and the Sejm (Lower House) with 460 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.  If a candidate receives more than 50% of votes in the first round, there is no second round. The president can be re-elected once, serving for 10 years total. 
  • The Prime Minister is appointed by the president with the approval of the Sejm.
  • In the Senat 100 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 4-year terms.[1] In the Sejm 460 members are elected through an open-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.[2]

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Candidate: Andrzej Sebastian Duda (Incumbent)
    • Party: Law and Justice (Prawo i Sprawiedliwość, or PiS)
  • Candidate: Rafał Trzaskowski
    • Party: Civic Platform (Platforma Obywatelska, or PO)
  • Candidate: Szymon Hołownia
    • Party: Indepdendent
  • Candidate: Krzysztof Bosak
    • Party: Confederation Liberty and Independence (Konfederacja Wolność i Niepodległość)
  • Candidate: Władysław Kosiniak-Kamysz
    • Party: Polish People’s Party (Polskie Stronnictwo Ludowe, or PSL)
  • Candidate: Robert Biedroń
    • Party: The Left (Lewica)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 38,282,325 (July 2020 est.)[1]
  • Registered Voters: 30,253,556 (2019) [2]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 19,759,200 (2020 est.) [3]
  • Is Poland a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (29 May 1980)
  • Has Poland ratified CEDAW: Yes (30 July 1980) [4]
  • Gender Quota:  Yes, for the Sejm [5]
  • Female Candidates in this election: No
  • Number of Female Legislators: 134 (29.1%) of 460 seats in the Sejm, 14 (14%) of 100 seats in the Senat [6]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 32 [7]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A

Disability Data:

  • Is Poland a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)
  • Has Poland ratified CRPD: Yes (25 September 2012) [8]
  • Population with a disability: 5,784,328 [9]

  • [1] There are 100 single-member constituencies

    [2] There are 41 multi-member constituencies consisting of anywhere between 7 and 20 seats. Electors are required to cast a preferential vote for the candidate of their choice. All preferential votes are tabulated as votes for the candidate's party. There is a 5% threshold for parties and 8% threshold for coalitions. The threshold applies to the share of the total national vote, not the constituency. Candidates that belong to ethnic minorities are exempt from threshold requirements.

Election Modified: Dec 08, 2022

Most Recent Elections in Poland

With Participation Rates