Oct. 28, 2020 Confirmed

Tanzania, United Republic of

United Republic of Tanzania

Election for Bunge (Tanzanian National Assembly)

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • The 239 seats in the National Assembly (Bunge).


Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President John MAGUFULI (since 5 November 2015)
  • Head of Government: President John MAGUFULI (since 5 November 2015)
  • Assembly: Tanzania has a unicameral National Assembly (Bunge) with 357 seats.


Electoral System:

  • Since the introduction of multiparty elections in 1995, the uses a first-past-the-post system to determine the composition of the National Legislature, with a separate winner takes all ballot directly electing the President.[1] 
  • The President is elected by popular vote to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Bunge), 239 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms, 102 members are reserved for women to serve 5-year terms, 5 members are allocated to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives to serve 5-year terms and 10 members are appointed by the President to serve 5-year terms.


Main Parties in this Election:

  • Party: Party of the Revolution / Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM)
    • Leader: John MAGUFULI
    • Seats Won in Last Election: 253
  • Party: Chama cha Democracia na Maendeleo (CHADEMA)
    • Leader: Tundu LISSU
    • Seats Won in Last Election: 70
  • Party: Alliance for Change and Transparency-Wazalendo (ACT-Wazalendo)
    • Leader: Bernard MEMBE
    • Seats Won in Last Election: 1
  • Party: Civic United Front / Chama Cha Wananchi (CUF)
    • Leader: Ibrahim Haruna LIPUMBA
    • Seats Won in Last Election: 42

*This list is static, as the National Election Commission is continuing to decide on appeals of parliamentary candidates.

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 58,552,845 (July 2020 est.)[2]
  • Registered Voters: 29188347 (2020 est.)[3]


Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 29,326,051 (July 2020 est.)[4]
  • Is Tanzania a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)[5]
  • Has Tanzania ratified CEDAW: Yes (20 August 1985)[6]
  • Gender Quota: Yes[7]
  • Female Candidates in this election: N/A
  • Number of Female Legislators: 125 (as of 2015)[8]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 159[9]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High[10]


Disability Data:

  • Is Tanzania a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 Mar 2007)[11]
  • Has Tanzania ratified CRPD: Yes (10 November 2009)[12]
  • Population with a disability: 7,656,882[13]

[1] https://www.eisa.org/wep/tansystem.htm

[3] https://www.nec.go.tz/

[4] Ibid.

[6] Ibid.

[7] https://www.idea.int/data-tools/data/gender-quotas/country-view/291/35

[8] https://data.ipu.org/women-ranking?month=10&year=2020


[10] https://www.genderindex.org/wp-content/uploads/files/datasheets/2019/TZ.pdf

[12] Ibid.

[13] http://electionaccess.org/en/resources/countries/tz/all/

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Tanzania, United Republic of

With Participation Rates