Feb. 9, 2020 Held


Republic of Azerbaijan

Election for Milli Məclis (Azerbaijani National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,247,092
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

New Azerbaijan Party 72

Civic Solidarity Party 3

Independents (Independents) 43

Whole Azerbaijan Popular Front 1

Great Order Party (Great Order Party) 1

Motherland Party 1

Party for Democratic Reforms (Party for Democratic Reforms) 1

Unity Party (Unity Party) 1

Civil Unity Party 1

Azerbaijan Democratic Enlightenment Party (Azerbaijan Democratic Enlightenment Party)

Election Results Modified: May 04, 2020

General Information

At stake in this election:       

  • The 125 seats in the National Assembly (Milli Məclis)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Ilham ALIYEV*
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Ali ASADOV (since 8 October 2019)
  • Assembly: Azerbaijan has a unicameral National Assembly (Milli Məclis) with 125 seats.

*President is eligible for unlimited terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by absolute majority vote through a two-round system to serve a 5-year term.
  • In the National Assembly (Milli Məclis) 125 members are elected by plurality vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms.
Election Modified: Jan 19, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Azerbaijan

With Participation Rates