July 15, 2020 Held

North Macedonia

Republic of North Macedonia

Election for Sobranie (North Macedonian Assembly )


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:943,750
Valid Votes:912,186
Invalid Votes:31,564

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

We Can Coalition (Sotsial Demokratski Sojus na Makedonija) 46 - 327,408


Renewal Coalition (Внатрешна македонска револуционерна организација – Демократска партија за македонско национално единство) 44 - 315,344


Democratic Union for Integration 15 - 104,699


Coalition between Albanian Alternative and Alliance for Albanians (Albanska alternativa & Alijansa za Albancite) 12 - 81,620


The Left (Levica) 2 - 37,426


Democratic Party of Albanians (Partia Demokratike Shqiptare) 1 - 13,930

Election Results Modified: Jul 22, 2020

General Information


This election was originally scheduled for 12 April 2020, but was postponed in response to COVID-19

Republic of North Macedonia: Parliament, 15 July 2020

At stake in this election:

  • 120 seats in the Sobranie (Assembly)

Description of governance structure:

  • Chief of State: President Stevo Pendarovski (since 12 May 2019)
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Oliver SPASOVSKI (since 3 January 2020)
  • Assembly: North Macedonia has a unicameral Sobranie (Assembly) consisting of up to 123 seats with members serving 4-year terms.
  • President of the Assembly during 2016-2020: Talat Xhaferi
  • President of the Assembly and his/her deputies are elected in a procedure defined in the Rules of Procedures of the Assembly[1]

Description of electoral system:

  • In the Assembly, 120 members are directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote and 3 are directly elected in diaspora constituencies worldwide by simple majority vote. However, out-of-country voting will not be organized for these elections, as the required threshold of 6,540 registered voters (based on the results of the 2016 parliamentary elections) was not met. Therefore, there will be no MPs elected by voters in the diaspora.

Last Election:

  • Elections for the Assembly were last held on 11 December 2016. In that election, the Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization-Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity (VMRO-DPMNE) won 51 seats. The Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM)-led coalition won 49 seats, the Democratic Union for Integration (DUI) won 10 seats, the BESA Movement won 5 seats, the Alliance of Albanians (AA) won 3 seats, and the Democratic Party of Albanians (DPA) won 2 seats.

Main parties & coalitions in this election: ​

  • Renewal Coalition led by Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization - Democratic Party for Macedonian National Unity (VMRO-DPMNE)/Vnatresno Macedonska Revoluciona Ogranizacija - Demokratska Partija za Makedonija Nacionalno Edinstvo
    • Leader: Hristijan MICKOSKI
    • Seats won in last election: 51
  • We Can Coalition led by Social Democratic Union of Macedonia (SDSM)/Sotsial Demokratski Sojus na Makedonija (including the BESA Movement/Lëvizja Besa) [2]
    • Leader: Zoran ZAEV
    • Seats won in last election: 49 (SDSM), 5 (BESA)
  • Democratic Union for Integration (DUI)/Demokratska Unija za Intergrasija
    • Leader: Ali AHMETI
    • Seats won in last election: 10
  • Coalition between Albanian Alternative (AA)/ Albanska alternativa and Alliance for Albanians (AA)/ Alijansa za Albancite [3]
    • Leaders: Ziadin SELA (Alliance for Albanians) and Afrim GASHI (Albanian Alternative)
    • Seats won in last election: 3
  • The Left/ Levica
    • Leader: Dimitar APASIEV
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Democratic Party of Albanians (DPA)/Demokratska Partija na Albancite
    • Leader: Menduh THACI
    • Seats won in last election: 2

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 2,125,971 (July 2020 est.) [4]

·         Registered Voters: 1,814,263 (2020) [5]

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,065,923 (2020 est.) [6]

·         Is Macedonia a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Macedonia ratified CEDAW: Yes, succession (18 January 1994) [7]

·         Gender Quota: Yes [8]

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 40 (32.52%)

·         Human Development Index Position: 82 [9]

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very low (2019) [10]

Disability Data:

·         Is Macedonia a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Macedonia ratified CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007) [11]

·         Population with a disability: 314,402 [12]




Dimitar Apasiev
Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in North Macedonia

With Participation Rates