July 5, 2020 Held

Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic

Election for Dominican Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:4,125,248
Valid Votes:4,065,277
Invalid Votes:59,094

Vote Share by Candidate:

Luis ABINADER2,135,601


Pelegrin CASTILLO Seman1,523,698


Federico Antún360,447


Guillermo MORENO Garcia38,870


Ismael Reyes3,446

Election Results Modified: Jul 07, 2020

General Information

This election was originally scheduled for May 15, 2020. 

Dominican Republic: President, 5 July 2020

At stake in this election:

The office of the President of the Dominican Republic

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Danilo MEDINA Sanchez (since 16 August 2012)
  • Head of Government: President Danilo MEDINA Sanchez (since 16 August 2012)
  • Assembly: Dominican Republic has a bicameral Congreso Nacional (National Congress) consisting of the Senado (Senate) with 32 seats and the Camara de Diputados (Chamber of Deputies) with 190 seats. Members of the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies serve for 4-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President of the Dominican Republic is directly elected by absolute majority vote in 2 rounds if needed, for a 4-year term, with eligibility for a second term.

Last Election:

  • Presidential elections in the Dominican Republic were last held on 15 May 2016.[1] Danilo MEDINA Sanchez was re-elected president with 61.74% of the vote, defeating Luis Rodolfo ABINADER Corona, who finished with 34.98%.

Main candidates in the election:

  • Gonzalo CASTILLO Terrero
    • Party: Dominican Liberation Party (PLD)/Partido de la Liberación Dominicana
  • Luis Rodolfo ABINADER Corona
    • Party: Modern Revolutionary Party (PRM)/Partido Revolucionario Moderno
  • Federico Augusto ANTÚN Batlle (also called Quique Antún)
    • Party: Social Christian Reformist Party (PRSC)/Partido Reformista Social Cristiano
  • Leonel Antonio FERNÁNDEZ Reyna
    • Party: People’s Force/Fuerza Del Pueblo (FP) [2]
  • Guillermo Antonio MORENO García
    • Party: Country Alliance (ALPAÍS)/ Alianza País
  • Juan Alberto COHEN Sander
    • Party: National Citizen Will Party(PNVC) / Partido Nacional Voluntad Ciudadana
  • Ismael REYES Cruz
    • Party: Democratic Institution Party (PDI)/ Partido Demócrata Institucional


Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 10,499,707 (July 2020 est.)[3]

·         Registered Voters: 7,529,932 (2018) [4]

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 5,190,724 (2020 est.) [5]

·         Is Dominican Republic a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Dominican Republic ratified CEDAW: Yes (2 September 1982) [6]

·         Gender Quota: Yes [7]

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 54 [8]

·         Human Development Index Position: 89 (2019) [9]

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Very Low (2019)[10]

Disability Data:

·         Is Dominican Republic a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Dominican Republic ratified CRPD: Yes (18 August 2009) [11]

·         Population with a disability: 1,571,813 (est.) [12]



Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Dominican Republic

With Participation Rates