Feb. 21, 2020 Held

Iran, Islamic Republic of

Islamic Republic of Iran

Election for مجلس شورای اسلامی / Majles-e-Shura-ye-Eslami (Iranian Islamic Consultative Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:24,512,000
Valid Votes:None
Invalid Votes:None

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

The United Front of Conservatives (ائتلاف آبادگران ایران اسلامی; E'telāf-e Ābādgarān-e Īrān-e Eslām) 221


Independents (Independents) 38


Democratic Coaltion of Reformists (ائتلاف دموکراتیک اصلاح طلبان) 20


Undecided seats (Undecided seats) 11

Election Results Modified: Apr 13, 2020

General Information

At stake in this election:

290 seats in the Majles-e Shoraye Eslami (Islamic Consultative Assembly)

Description of electoral system:

  • In the Islamic Consultative Assembly (Majles-e Shoraye Eslam) 290 members are directly elected in single- and multi-seat constituencies by a two-round vote, with members serving 4-year terms. Additionally, five seats are reserved for a representative of religious minorities, including Zoroastrians, Jews, Assyrian and Chaldean Christians, and Armenian Christians. All candidates to the Islamic Consultative Assembly must be approved by the Guardian Council, a 12-member group of which 6 are appointed by the Supreme Leader and 6 are jurists nominated by the judiciary and elected by the Assembly.

Note: In Iran, although political parties exist, larger coalitions often more accurately reflect political organization and structure, with the primary divide being between principalists, who advocated for power of the supreme leader, and more progressive-minded reformists.

Election Modified: Aug 17, 2023

Most Recent Elections in Iran, Islamic Republic of

With Participation Rates