Oct. 27, 2019 Held


Argentine Republic

Election for Argentinian Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:26,595,460
Valid Votes:25,931,564
Invalid Votes:663,896

Vote Share by Candidate:

Alberto Fernández12,473,709


Mauricio MACRI10,470,607


Roberto LAVAGNA1,599,707


Nicolas del Cano561,214


Juan José Gómez Centurión443,507


José Luis Espert382,820

Election Results Modified: Nov 14, 2019

General Information

At Stake in this Election:       

  • The office of President of Argentina.

Government Structure:

  • Chief of State: President Mauricio MACRI (since 10 December 2015)
  • Head of Government: President Mauricio MACRI (since 10 December 2015)
  • Assembly: Argentina has a bicameral National Congress (Congreso de la nación) consisting of the Senate (Senado) with 72 seats and the Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados) with 257 seats.

Electoral System[1]:

  • The President is elected by qualified majority to serve a 4-year term. If no candidate receives at least 45% of the vote, or 40% with a lead of 10% over the runner-up, a second round is held.
  • In the Senate (Senado) 72 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 6-year terms*.
  • In the Chamber of Deputies (Cámara de Diputados) 257 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.**

*One-third of the Senate is renewable every two years. Senators are elected from 24 multi-member districts, with 3 Senators. 2 Senate seats per district are granted to the party receiving the highest number of votes, while the other seat is given to the first minority party.

**One-half of the Chamber of Deputies is renewable every two years. Party lists are closed. There are 24 multi-member districts. The threshold is 3 percent.

Main Candidates in this Election:

  • Candidate: Mauricio MACRI
    • Coalition: Together for Change/Juntos por el Cambio
    • The coalition formed in 2015. The coalition is composed of the Republican Proposal (PRO), the Radical Civic Union (UCR), the Civic Coalition (CC-ARI) and sectors of Federal Peronism.
  • Candidate: Alberto FERNÁNDEZ
    • Coalition: Everyone’s Front/Frente de Todos
    • The coalition formed in 2018. The coalition is the convergence of four major political sectors: the Justicialist Party (PJ), the Kirchnerism, the majority of the Peronist governors, and the Renewal Front.
  • Candidate: Roberto LAVAGNA
    • Coalition: Federal Consensus/Consenso Federal
    • The coalition formed in 2019, being the result of the merger between Consensus 2019 and Federal Alternative.
  • Candidate:  Nicolás del CAÑO
    • Alliance: Workers’ Left Front/Frente de Izquierda y de los Trabajadores (FIT)
    • The alliance formed in 2011. The parties are: Workers' Party (PO), the Socialist Workers' Party (PTS), and Socialist Left (IS).
  • Candidate: José Luis ESPERT
    • Coalition: Frente Despertar
    • The coalition formed in 2018 by ormed by the Unite for Freedom and Dignity party (officially only), the Democratic Center Union, the Libertarian Party and the Democratic Party of Buenos Aires
  • Candidate: Juan José Gómez CENTURIÓN

Population and Registered Voters:

  • Population: 44,781,000 (2019 est.)[2]
  • Registered Voters: 33,841,837 (2017)[3]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 22,939,000 (2019 est.)[4]
  • Is Argentina a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 Jul 1980)[5]
  • Has Argentina ratified CEDAW: Yes (15 Jul 1985)[6]
  • Gender Quota: Yes[7]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators:  99 (38.8%)[8]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 47[9]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A[10]

Disability Data:

  • Is Argentina a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 Mar 2007)[11]
  • Has Argentina ratified CRPD: Yes (2 Sep 2008)[12]
  • Population with a disability: 6,514,783 (2019 est.)[13]




Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Argentina

With Participation Rates