Feb. 4, 2018 Held

Costa Rica

Republic of Costa Rica

Election for Costa Rican Presidency


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:2,182,764
Valid Votes:2,154,697
Invalid Votes:28,067

Vote Share by Candidate:

Fabricio ALVARADO Muñoz538,504


Carlos ALVARADO Quesada466,129


Antonio ÁLVAREZ Desanti401,505


Rodolfo PIZA344,595


Juan DIEGO Castro205,602


Rodolfo Hernández106,444


Otto GUEVARA21,890


Edgardo RAYA16,862


Sergio MENA16,329


Mario REDONDO12,638


Stephanie CAMPOS12,309


Óscar LÓPEZ7,539


Jhon VEGA4,351

Election Results Modified: Jun 14, 2018

General Information

Costa Rica: President, 4 February 2018

At stake in this election:

  • The office of President of Costa Rica

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Luis Guillermo Solís Rivera*
  • Head of Government: President Luis Guillermo Solís Rivera
  • Assembly: Costa Rica has a unicameral Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa) with 57 seats.

* The electoral system is two-round with a 40 percent threshold.

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected by qualified majority to serve a 4-year term.
  • In the Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa) 57 members are elected through a closed-list proportional representation system to serve 4-year terms.***

*** There are seven constituencies corresponding to Costa Rica's provinces, and seats are apportioned to each in proportion to population. Seats are allocated at the constituency level. Once all lists' quotas have been filled, there are additional considerations for sub-quotas of votes (50 percent of a full quota), and then for remainders less than sub-quotas.

Main Candidates in the Presidential race:

  • Carlos ALVARADO Quesada
    • Citizens Action Party / Acción Ciudadana (PAC)
  • Fabricio ALVARADO Muñoz
    • National Restoration Party / Restoración Nacional (PRN)
  • Antonio ÁLVAREZ Desanti
    • National Liberation Party/ Liberación Nacional (PLN)
  • Rodolfo PIZA
    • Social Christian Unity Party/ Unidad Social Cristiana (PUSC)
  • Juan DIEGO Castro
    • National Integration Party/ Integración Nacional (PIN)
  • Rodolfo HERNÁNDEZ
    • Social-Christian Republican Party/ Republicano Socialcristiano (PRSC)
  • Otto GUEVARA
    • Liberation Movement Party/ Movimiento Libertario (PML)
  • Edgardo ARAYA
    • Broad Front Party/ Frente Amplio (FA)
  • Sergio MENA
    • New Generation Party/ Nueva Generación (PNG)
  • Mario REDONDO
    • Christian Democratic Alliance Party/ Alianza Demócrata Cristiana (ADC)
  • Stephanie CAMPOS
    • Costa Rican Renovation Party/ Renovación Costarricense (PRC)
  • Óscar LÓPEZ
    • Accessibility Without Exclusion Party/ Accesibilidad Sin Exclusión (PASE)
  • Jhon VEGA
    • Workers' Party/ De Los Trabajadores (PDTLR)

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 4,545,273 (July 2009 est)
  • Registered Voters: 2,822,491 (December 2009)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 2,268,442 (2010)

·         Is Costa Rica a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)

·         Has Costa Rica ratified CEDAW: Yes (4 April 1986)

·         Gender Quota: Yes

·         Female candidates in this election: No

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 22 (following 2010 elections)

·         Human Development Index Position: 69 (2014)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Low (2014)

Disability Data:

·         Is Costa Rica a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)

·         Has Costa Rica ratified CRPD: Yes (1 October 2008)

·         Population with a disability: 681,790 (est.)

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Costa Rica

With Participation Rates