Sept. 25, 2016 Held


Autonomous Community of Galicia

Election for Parlamento de Galicia (Galician Parliament)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:1,438,054
Valid Votes:1,423,568
Invalid Votes:14,486

Vote Share by Party:

Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

People's Party of Galicia (Partido Popular) 41 - - 676,676


En Marea (En Marea) 14 - 271,418


Socialist Party of Galicia (Partido dos Socialistas de Galicia-PSOE) 14 - 254,552


Galician Nationalist Bloc - Us (Bloque Nacionalista Galego - Nosotros) 6 - 118,982


Citizens - Party of the Citizenry (Citizens - Party of the Citizenry) - - 48,103

Election Results Modified: Sep 26, 2016

General Information

Galicia, Autonomous Community of Spain: Parliament, 25 September 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 75 seats in the Parlamento de Galicia (Parliament of Galicia)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: King FELIPE VI (since 19 June 2014)[1]
  • Head of Government: President Alberto Núñez Feijóo (since 17 April 2009)[2]
  • Assembly: Galicia has its own unicameral Parliament of Galicia separate from that of Spain, which is composed of 75 seats with members serving 4-year terms.

Description of electoral system:

  • Galicia is divided into 4 provinces: A Coruña, Lugo, Ourense and Pontevedra. Each province elects a minimum of ten members of Parliament, with the remaining seats allocated in proportion to their population. Since 1997, seats have been allocated as follows: A Coruña – 2; Lugo – 15; Ourense – 14; Pontevedra – 22. Members are directly elected using a closed list proportional representation system.

Last Election:

  • Elections were last held on 12 October 2012. The People’s Party won 41 seats, the Socialists’ Party of Galicia won 18, the Galician Left Alternative won 9, and the Galician Nationalist Bloc won 7.

Main parties in the election:

  • People’s Party of Galicia/Partido Popular de Galicia
    • Leader: Alberto NÚÑEZ Feijóo
    • Seats won in last election: 41
  • Socialists’ Party of Galicia/Partido dos Socialistas de Galicia
    • Leader: José Ramón GÓMEZ Besteiro
    • Seats won in last election: 18
  • Galician Left Alternative/Alternativa Galega de Esquerda
    • Leader: Xosé Manuel BEIRAS
    • Seats won in last election: 9
  • Galician Nationalist Bloc/Bloque Nacionalista Galego
    • Leader: Xavier VENCE
    • Seats won in last election: 7
  • En Marea (In Tide)[3]
    • Leader: Collective Leadership
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Commitment to Galicia/Compromiso por Galicia
    • Leader: Xoán Carlos BASCUAS Jardón
    • Seats won in last election: 0
  • Convergence 21/Converxencia XXI
    • Leader: Carlos VÁZQUEZ Padín
    • Seats won in last election: 0

For full results of this election, see here

Population and number of registered voters:

·         Population: 2,734,915 (2015)

·         Registered Voters: 2,697,717 (2012)

Gender Data:

·         Female Population: 1,412,736 (2015)

·         Is Galicia a signatory to CEDAW: N/A

·         Has Galicia ratified CEDAW: N/A

·         Gender Quota: N/A

·         Female candidates in this election: Yes

·         Number of Female Parliamentarians: 28 (37.33%)

·         Human Development Index Position: N/A (Spain’s ranking is 26)

·         Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: N/A (Spain’s ranking is Very Low)

Disability Data:

·         Is Galicia a signatory to CRPD: N/A

·         Has Galicia ratified CRPD: N/A

·         Population with a disability: 410,237 (est.)


[1] Chief of State of the Kingdom of Spain.

[2] In the Autonomous Community of Galicia, the head of government is the president of the Xunta of Galicia. 

[3] En Marea is a coalition formed by Podemos, Anova, and the United Left of Galicia. 

Election Modified: May 10, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Galicia

With Participation Rates