March 31, 2016 Held

Central African Republic

Central African Republic

Election for Assemblée Nationale (Central African National Assembly)


Voter Participation

Cast Votes:542,546
Valid Votes:516,897
Invalid Votes:25,648
Election Results Modified: Jun 21, 2024

General Information

Central African Republic: Parliament, 14 February 2016

At stake in this election:

  • 85 seats in the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale). (45 candidates were elected in the first round, while an additional round of voting will be held in 10 constituencies where irregularities were reported.)

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: Interim President Catherine SAMBA-PANZA (since 23 January 2014)[1]
  • Head of Government: Prime Minister Mahamat KAMOUN (since 10 August 2014)
  • Assembly: Central African Republic has a unicameral National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) with 105 seats.

Description of electoral system:

  • In the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) 105 members are elected by absolute majority vote in single-member constituencies to serve 5-year terms. If no candidate wins an absolute majority in the first round, a second round is held between the top two candidates.

Last Election:

  • Elections to the National Assembly (Assemblée Nationale) were initially held on 30 December 2015 alongside the presidential elections. On 27 January 2016, however, the Constitutional Court announced that the parliamentary elections needed to be rerun due to irregularities, with the election body receiving over 400 complaints about conduct during the election.

Main parties in the election:

  • National Convergence “Kwa Na Kwa” / Convergence National “Kwa Na Kwa”
    • Leader: François BOZIZÉ
    • Seats won in last election: 63
  • Movement for the Liberation of the Central African People / Mouvement pour la Libération du Peuple Centrafricain (MLPC)
    • Leader: Martin ZIGUÉLÉ
    • Seats won in last election: 2
  • Central African Democratic Assembly / Rassemblement Démocratique Centrafricain (RDC)
    • Leader: Desire Nzanga KOLINGBA
    • Seats won in last election: 1
  • Alliance for Democracy and Progress / Alliance pour la Démocratie et le Progrès (ADP)
    • Leader: Clement BELIBANGA
    • Seats won in last election: N/A

Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 5,391,539 (July 2015 est.)
  • Registered Voters: 1,954,433 (December 2015)

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 2,695,770 (2015 est.)
  • Is Central African Republic a signatory to CEDAW: No
  • Has Central African Republic ratified CEDAW: No[2]
  • Gender Quota: No
  • Female candidates in this election: No
  • Number of Female Parliamentarians: 13 (12.38%) of 105
  • Human Development Index Position: 185
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: High

Disability Data:

  • Is Central African Republic a signatory to CRPD: Yes (9 May 2007)
  • Has Central African Republic ratified CRPD: No
  • Population with a disability: 808,731 (2015 est.)

[1] Interim President SAMBA-PANZA replaced Interim President Michel DJOTODIA following his resignation, which was prompted by his failure to prevent intensifying sectarian violence between Muslims and Christians. Prime Minister KAMOUN is the leader of the transitional government. For a more complete overview of the political situation in the Central African Republic, please see this timeline.

[2] Central African Republic acceded to CEDAW on 21 June 1991.

Election Modified: Jun 21, 2024

Most Recent Elections in Central African Republic

With Participation Rates