Record Modified: Aug 16 2023

Aug. 17, 2015 Held

Sri Lanka

Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

Election for Sri Lankan Parliament


Cast Votes:11,684,111
Valid Votes:11,167,185
Invalid Votes:516,926


Party Seats Won Seats Change Votes

United National Party 106 - 5,098,916


United People's Freedom Alliance (Eksath Janatha Nidahas Sandanaya ) 95 - 4,732,664


Others (Others) 0 555,991

People's Liberation Front 6 - 544,154


Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi (Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchi) 16 - 515,963


Sri Lanka Muslim Congress 1 - 44,193


Eelam People's Democratic Party 1 - 33,481


More Info:

At stake in this election:      

  • 225 seats in the Parliament. The new Parliament is scheduled to meet September 1, 2015.

Description of government structure:

  • Chief of State: President Maithripala SIRISENA
  • Head of Government: President Maithripala SIRISENA
  • Assembly: Sri Lanka has a unicameral Parliament with 225 seats. 

Description of electoral system:

  • The President is elected through a contingent vote system to serve a 6-year term.*
  • In the Parliament 225 members are elected by open list proportional representation in multi-member constituencies to serve 6-year terms.***

* Under the contingent vote system, voters may rank up to three candidates. If no candidate wins a majority in the first round of counting, ballots whose first rankings are eliminated candidates are redistributed to the next-ranked candidates on those ballots. The winner is the candidate with the most votes after this second round of counting.

*** Parties must clear a threshold of one-eighth of votes to win seats in the respective constituency. Each voter may cast three preference votes. There are 22 multi-member constituencies containing 196 seats and one nationwide constituency with 29 seats.

Election Note:

  • The election is being held 10 months ahead of the original schedule.[1] 

Main parties in the electoral race[2],[3]:

  • Party: United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) / එක්සත් ජනතා නිදහස් සන්ධානය
  • Leader: Maithripala SIRISENA
  • Seats won in last election: 144
  • Party: United National Front for Good Governance (UNFGG) / එක්සත් යහපාලන ජාතික පෙරමුණ
  • Leader: Ranil WICKRAMASINGHE
  • Seats won in last election: 60
  • Party: Tamil National Alliance (TNA) /  தமிழ்த் தேசியக் கூட்டமைப்பு
  • Leader: Mavai SENATHIRAJAH
  • Seats won in last election: 14
  • Party: Democratic National Alliance / ප්රජාතන්ත්රවාදී පක්ෂයේ
  • Leader: Sarath FONSEKA
  • Seats won in last election: 7

Last election:

  • The last election for the Parliament was held on 8 April 2010.  There were 14,088,500 registered voters for the election.  The United People's Freedom Alliance won 144 seats (of 225) or 60.66% of the vote, the United National Party won 60 seats, the Tamil National Alliance won 14 seats, and the Democratic National Alliance won 7 seats.  Results can be found here


Population and number of registered voters:

  • Population: 21,866,445 (July 2014 est.)[4]
  • Registered Voters: 15,044,490[5]

Gender Data:

  • Female Population: 11,172,825[6]
  • Is Sri Lanka a signatory to CEDAW: Yes (17 July 1980)[7]
  • Has Sri Lanka ratified CEDAW: Yes (5 October 1981)[8]
  • Gender Quota:  No[9]
  • Female Candidates in this election: Yes
  • Number of Female Legislators: 13 (6%) of 225 seats in Parliament[10]
  • Human Development Index (HDI) Position: 73[11]
  • Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) Categorization: Medium[12]

Disability Data:

  • Is Sri Lanka a signatory to CRPD: Yes (30 March 2007)[13]
  • Has Sri Lanka ratified CRPD: No[14]
  • Population with a disability: 3,279,967[15]

[3] A total of 21 registered political parties and 201 independent groups will contest the election. Only the UPFA, UNFGG, and JVP will contest the election in all 22 electoral districts.